Computer Science Portal: Welcome
Welcome
Welcome to the Computer Science library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Maggie Nunley
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Maggie for help with your assignments. This service is available to all CS students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and make the entire experience less daunting.
Maggie holds consultation hours online via Zoom every weekday afternoon.
Search Virgo
- Getting Started with VirgoUse the link above to open a full-screen version of the PDF below.
- Navigating VirgoInteractive guide to Virgo navigation.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, conference proceedings, reports, white papers, and more. These are the most used databases for Computer Science research.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text of articles from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings relating to the computing industry.
- arXiv This link opens in a new windowOpen access to over 1,500,000 e-prints in Physics (including Astronomy), Mathematics, Computer Science, Statistics, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Electrical Engineering & Systems Science, and Economics
- Computer and Information Systems Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPart of the Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection. Lists journal articles, conference proceedings, tech reports, patents, books, and industry news on topics such as artificial intelligence, information systems, computer applications/programming, hardware, software engineering and mathematics of computing.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new windowJournals and other reference sources covering engineering and the business and social aspects of new technology as well as computer theory and systems.
- Ei Compendex*Plus This link opens in a new windowA large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
- All CS databasesA link directly to the UVA Library's A-Z Database page for Computer Science databases.
Watch tutorials
If you're stuck on a bit of code or having trouble figuring out a new concepts, these resources offer a variety of tutorials and topics related to Computer Science.
- LinkedIn Learning- For Students and Faculty This link opens in a new windowLinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning company that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Members have access to the lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments.
From the drop-down menu, choose: Not listed? Click here. Then enter UVa email address to access content.
Instructors: If you are using books on O’Reilly as course textbooks, please be aware that O’Reilly can and does pull titles mid-semester without notice to the Library. - Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Oxford's Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects — from Public Health to Buddhist Ethics, Soft Matter to Classics, and Art History to Globalization. Each volume provides an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches.
Access to: Arts & Humanities, Law, Medicine & Health, Science & Mathematics, and Social Sciences.
Explore research guides
Need different resources? These are often used in CS research as well but you can also review our entire list of research guides.
- Computer ScienceFor access to the full Computer Science research guide.
- Data and StatisticsWhere to find numeric data and statistics created by UVA Data Librarian, Jenn Huck
- Government InformationAn overview of resources related to publications from the US federal government and the United Nations.
- Military InformationA overview of useful resources both paid for by the Library and freely available.