DS 6002 Library Portal: Welcome
Welcome
Welcome to the DS 6002: Ethics of Big Data library portal. This portal provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Meet your librarian
Your Librarian is Jennifer Huck.
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Jenn for help with your assignments. This service is available to all Data Science students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Jenn can help you find articles and books, find data to analyze, and organize your sources. She can meet with you in-person or on Zoom.
"I love helping students with their research questions!" - Jenn
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for data science research.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFind articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
- ProQuest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa and RefWorks.
Consult policy reports
Are you doing research with a policy emphasis or an applied outcome? Consider reviewing reports and policy briefs from think tanks, research centers, advocacy groups, intergovernmental organizations, and nongovernmental organizations. These databases make it really easy to find reports - far easier than looking for them with a regular Google search.
- Overton This link opens in a new windowOverton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. It collects data from 188 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide with more being added all the time.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowDatabase for public policy. Includes more than 3 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowPolicy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research in that it grants users access to timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 75 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy. The majority of Policy File Index records link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source.
Stay up to date with news
Data ethics sees a lot of press in news coverage. Try these sources to find news articles.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1851 - current
Online access to the New York Times includes full entry to the archives from 1851 to present day. Features include Spanish and Chinese editions plus hundreds of articles published in other languages and access to The New York Times Magazine. There is a 5 PDF download limit per day.
Users must be On-Grounds or have their VPN turned on and then will have to create an account with NYTimes. Access does not include Cooking, Games/Crosswords, or The Athletic.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Factiva This link opens in a new windowCompany and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.
Help me cite my sources
Zotero will help you collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research. Use the browser extension to save sources, the app to organize and annotate, and the Word or Google Doc plug-in to cite when you write. Ask your professor if they have a specific citation style in mind. If they suggest IEEE or ACM, you'll have to import those styles into Zotero.
Access articles off Grounds
Trying to access articles off Grounds? Try LibKey Nomad. LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that will easily connect you to library resources, like academic articles, even when you are off Grounds.