ENWR 1510 UVA Research Resources

Below is a list of databases covering various disciplines of scholarship that could relate to UVA. Don't see what you're looking for? Contact Sherri or another librarian to discuss your research. 

Multidisciplinary (good for searching a wide range of topics) 

• Academic Search Complete is a large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Updated daily, it can be the best source for resources about very current topics. 
   
• Virgo - search Virgo for articles from a large variety of library databases. 
   
• Google Scholar is also useful for finding articles from across many disciplines. 

History 

• America History & Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews. 

Education 

• ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week.

Psychology

• Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection includes abstracts and full-text of almost 600 journals in psychology and related fields.

Sports 

• SPORT Discus with Full Text - International database covering sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, coaching, recreation, and more.  

See an A-Z list of all databases

These sites provide news and analysis on the state of higher education in the United States today: 

Inside Higher Ed - Search for news about all areas of higher education. The Student Voice tab will provide you with students' perspectives, but all articles focus on topics relevant to those working in (or attending) higher educational institutions.

The Chronicle of Higher Education - Subscription site of higher education journalism, so use the link to the left or the Reload @ UVA button (see tab on left for more information) to access content on the site as a UVA student.

The Hechinger Report - Higher Education - In-depth journalism on innovation in inequality in education.

Pew Research Center - This "fact tank" looks at issues and trends affecting the U.S. public. Not higher education-specific, but good for research on general attitudes and trends.

Brookings Institute - Brown Center Chalkboard - The Brookings Institute is a public policy organization that conducts research for solving societal problems. The Brown Center Chalkboard is a blog on the site that focuses on American education.