Welcome
Welcome to the Department of Environmental Science library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your librarian is Erich Purpur.
Each school at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Erich for help with your assignments. This service is available to all Environmental Science students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Erich can help with: learning how to use the Library online, brainstorming your research topic, developing your search strategy, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your literature reviews, tracking down resources, and citation management. Erich can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for your field of study.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles and other information on environmental issues such as global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. GreenFILE supports both research and practical steps for individuals.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowLocate articles, books, tech reports, software, patents, etc. about agriculture and related life sciences.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles on biological and biomedical research and related areas such as environmental studies, agriculture, biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology and bioengineering
- Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPart of Environmental Science Index. Current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines. Includes book reviews.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and some books on topics such as agriculture, the ecosystem, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, law, and policy, and urban planning.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowSearch for all types of publications on the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. This search also includes international publications from GeoRef in Process.
Research Support - StatLab
The UVA Library StatLab provides free consulting and training to UVA students, faculty, and staff. StatLab can help with the following:
- Statistical analysis
- Cleaning and wrangling data
- Selecting an appropriate statistical model
- Data Visualization (plotting or graphing)
- 1 on 1 training with statistical software
- Debugging or resolving code issues
To set up an appointment, email us at statlab@virginia.edu. We can work with you in person, over zoom, or via email. Walk-in Hours are available during the fall and spring semesters
Help me with APA citations
For most courses in EHD our preferred citation style is American Psychological Association (APA): 7th Edition. APA Style is used by writers in many disciplines around the world for concise, powerful, and persuasive scholarly communication.