VIRGO-- The U.Va. Library Catalog
Keyword search should be "Google-like," just enter whatever terms you want; no need for connectors like and.
Will search the title, author's name or description of the item.
There are also some Subject terms that indicate primary source materials:
Archives*
Correspondence*
Diaries*
Early works to 1800
Facsimilies
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Pamphlets
Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
Songs and music
Sources
Speeches, addresses, etc.*
Treaties
*Used with individuals' names,classes of persons (e.g., soldiers), and organizations.
Google Books Searches the full text of thousands of books. If used in conjunction with Amazon.com full text search of a book, can get most of the text of a book.
WorldCat Online listing of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials held by thousands of libraries worldwide. Libraries that own each item are listed. Searchable by title, author, or keyword.
Journal Finder —Perhaps the Library’s best-kept secret. Type in the title of your journal to see which databases provide access to it in full text. (Access from the Library’s main page using the drop-down for “Also Try” beneath the VIRGO search box.) This and Google Scholar are the best ways to track down citations.
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library. For "The Times" see "The Times: Digital Archive."
Search: Gordon Khartoum Dates Between = Jan 1, 1885 - June 30, 1885
Manchester Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) The Observer is a British newspaper published on Sundays. In the same place on the political spectrum as its sister papers the Guardian and the Guardian Weekly. It takes a social liberal or social democratic line on most issues. First published in 1791, it is the world's oldest Sunday newspaper.
The Times: Digital Archive, 1785-1985 Search the full text of The Times (London), including articles, advertisements, and picture captions.
Search: Amritsar Publication Date Between = April 13, 1919 - Dec 31, 1919
British Periodicals This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture
Periodicals Archive Online Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990's.
Advanced Search: "Boer War" Publication Date Between = Oct 1, 1899 - Dec 31, 1905
Document Type = Article
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2006 Weekly reporting, commentary and analysis of global developments in politics, business, science, technology and culture from 1843 to 2006.
Search: war and "New Zealand" Publication Date Between = 1860-1872
Limit results by Article Type = News
Pravda Digital Archive Pravda ("Truth") was founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. After 1918, it became the official organ of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, (Russian Federation after 1991).
Digital International Historical Newspaper Archives Mostly free access. Well organized, user-friendly. Links to general websites as well as to scores of archives by country, in Europe, Asia, Africa, Latin America and North American and the Caribbean, Australia. From Providence College.
Historical International Newspapers on Microfilm at UVA Arranged by country and years covered. Most microfilm and microfilm readers are located on Shannon Library's 3rd floor.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Lives of British persons from the earliest times to the end of the 20th century. IMPORTANT: our access is limited; please click the LOGOUT link when done.
Hansard 1803-2005 (Hansard Millbanks) Searchable site of debates in Parliament, produced from digitised editions of Commons and Lords Hansard, the Official Report of parliamentary activities. This is part of a project led by the Commons and Lords libraries.
Search = aeroplanes Iraq
British Parliamentary Papers in Shannon Library This guide is meant for those beginning research in British Parliamentary Papers. It focuses on Shannon Library's 19th and 20th century holdings and lists indexes and finding aids for Sessional papers (Bill, Reports and Command Papers), Journals, and Debates.
French Sources on Microfilm U.Va. Library's holdings of French government documents--domestic and foreign--1789-present; political pamphlets; records of Socialist Party congresses 1876-1914.
European Union -- Official site, including documents and reports, historical and current.
History of Europe as a Supranational Region: Primary Documents -- Vast collection of digitized historical documents, compiled by Brigham Young University Library