EGMT 1530 Research Resources Jefferson, Poe, Faulkner, & Dove
Research resources for students in Professor Greeson's EGMT 1530 classes.
Library databases for finding journal articles
Below is a list of databases covering various disciplines of scholarship that could relate to these four UVA authors. Don't see what you're looking for? Contact Sherri or another librarian to discuss your research.
- MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowLists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America.
- America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
Historic Newspaper & Serials Collections
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1690-1991
Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see 19th Century U.S. Newspapers. - Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowChronicling America allows you to search and view millions of American historic newspapers, published 1836-1922 as well as discover more about newspapers published in the U.S., 1690-present.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Daily Progress Digital Edition This link opens in a new windowThe Charlottesville, VA area newspaper, published daily from 1892 to the present. Issues from 1892 through 1964 have been digitized from the Library's set of microfilm and are available for viewing online.
- Virginia Chronicle This link opens in a new windowVirginia Chronicle is the Library of Virginia's online newspaper database and repository, and contains over 46,000 individual issues totaling nearly 300,000 pages.
