Librarian for English
Online Resources of Possible Interest
The Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) from the Library of Congress is a bibliography of Latin America of works selected and annotated by scholars. HLAS includes annotated citations for books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library - The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
History of Science in Latin America and the Caribbean (HSOLAC) is a comprehensive database of primary sources on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean. The site, launched in January 2010, provides a virtual archive of over 200 primary sources along with introductions based on the latest scholarly findings.
JSTOR Global Plants is a database collection of nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials from community contributors around the world.
Research Guide
This guide will provide you with some suggestions of where to look for sources, mainly in English, that focus on Latinx culture and literature of the 19th century and beyond. The other tabs in this guide may be useful for guidance on citing works and tools for making off-Grounds access to our resources easier.
Library databases - Reference
Oxford Bibliographies Online offer topic bibliographies related to a variety of subjects. We own access to the full Latino Studies guide (including a bibliography by Dr. Lamas on nineteenth-century literature). You may also find helpful information on the Latin American Studies guide, although we do not currently subscribe to that module, so only some information is available. Other guides include: African Studies, African-American Studies, Anthropology, Atlantic History, Art History, Buddhism, Classics, Criminology, Hinduism, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Music, Renaissance & Reformation bibliographies, and British and Irish Literature modules.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Literature includes a subject area of Latin American and Caribbean Literatures that contains 100 entries on a wide variety of topics, including 16 marked as related -- at least in part -- to the 19th century.
Cambridge Core Latin American Literature collection of ebooks includes access to resources such as The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature, The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature (3 vols), The Cambridge History of Latin American Women's Literature. The Cambridge Companion to Latina/o American Literature, and The Cambridge Companion to Latin American Poetry as well as titles more specific to particular countries, authors, and topics.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History includes hundreds of articles covering a wide range of topics related to Latin American history from 1492 and before to current times. The articles are peer-reviewed, and regularly updated. Use the browse by subject feature to browse by time period or topic.
Library databases - Scholarly criticism on literature and culture
The MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) indexes the broadest range of resources about literature in all languages. If a literary study of your novel or work exists, you will likely find it here. Not everything in the MLA Bibliography is full-text, meaning that you may only see a description of an article, rather than the text of the article. To get full text of an article, click on “Find article @ UVa Libraries”, or look up the journal title in Virgo, the library catalog. If the citation is for a book or an essay/chapter in a book, look for the book title in Virgo.
ProQuest One Literature contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, and dissertations. It also includes more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
The Chicano Database this bibliographic index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, with broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants from 1992 onwards.
JSTOR includes older issues of scholarly journals, from their beginnings to 3-5 years ago, so this may be another good database to look for articles related to your novel or work. Articles in JSTOR should be full-text, if we subscribe to the journal.
Project MUSE includes searchable full text of nearly 600 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and more, mostly from North American university presses.
Example Print and Ebooks
Virgo is UVA Library's catalog. Search Virgo for scholarship about particular authors or topics related to Latinx literature
Make sure to note relevant subject heading that relates to your topic of interest, and use the subject headings to help you identify other items of interest.
Can't find books in Virgo? You can also broaden your search to other libraries by searching in WorldCat (OCLC) - WorldCat includes millions of records of items held by libraries in the U.S. and internationally, and can be useful in identifying books not held in the UVA Library collection. Once identified, you can order material through InterLibrary Loan Borrowing.
Below are a few examples of print books and ebooks that critically examine Latinx literature of the 19th century.
Ambassadors of Culture: The Transamerican Origins of Latino Writing by Call Number: Clemons - print (currently chedked out)ISBN: 9780691050966Publication Date: 2002This polished literary history argues forcefully that Latinos are not newcomers in the United States by documenting a vast network of Spanish-language cultural activity in the nineteenth century. Juxtaposing poems and essays by both powerful and peripheral writers, Kirsten Silva Gruesz proposes a major revision of the nineteenth-century U.S. canon and its historical contexts. Drawing on previously unpublished archival materials and building on an innovative interpretation of poetry's cultural role, Ambassadors of Culture brings together scattered writings from the borderlands of California and the Southwest as well as the cosmopolitan exile centers of New York, New Orleans, and San Francisco. It reads these productions in light of broader patterns of relations between the U.S. and Latin America, moving from the fraternal rhetoric of the Monroe Doctrine through the expansionist crisis of 1848 to the proto-imperialist 1880s. It shows how ''ambassadors of culture'' such as Whitman, Longfellow, and Bryant propagated ideas about Latin America and Latinos through their translations, travel writings, and poems. In addition to these well-known figures and their counterparts in the work of nation-building in Cuba, Mexico, and Central and South America, this book also introduces unremembered women writers and local poets writing in both Spanish and English. In telling the almost forgotten early history of travels and translations between U.S. and Latin American writers, Gruesz shows that Anglo and Latino traditions in the New World were, from the beginning, deeply intertwined and mutually necessary.
Before Chicano: Citizenship and the Making of Mexican American Manhood, 1849-1959 by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in Virgo (also available in print)ISBN: 9781479868827Publication Date: 2019'Before Chicano' is a study of Latino manhood before the civil rights movement of the 1960s. Mexican Americans are typically overlooked or omitted from American cultural life of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, despite their long-standing presence in the US. This text dislodges the association between Mexican Americans and immigration and calls for a new framework for understanding Mexican American cultural production and US culture, but doing so requires an expanded archive and a multilingual approach to US culture.
Cuban Literature in the Age of Black Insurrection: Manzano, Placido, and Afro-Latino Religion by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to access (also in print)ISBN: 9781496824967Publication Date: 2020Juan Francisco Manzano and Gabriel de la Concepción Valdés (Plácido) were perhaps the most important and innovative Cuban writers of African descent during the Spanish colonial era. Both nineteenth-century authors used Catholicism as a symbolic Language for African-inspired spirituality. Likewise, Plácido and Manzano subverted the popular imagery of neoclassicism and Romanticism in order to envision black freedom in the tradition of the Haitian Revolution. Plácido and Manzano envisioned emancipation through the lens of African spirituality, a transformative moment in the history of Cuban letters. Matthew Pettway examines how the portrayal of African ideas of spirit and cosmos in otherwise conventional texts recur throughout early Cuban literature and became the basis for Manzano and Plácido's antislavery philosophy. The portrayal of African-Atlantic religious ideas spurned the elite rationale that literature ought to be a barometer of highbrow cultural progress. Cuban debates about freedom and selfhood were never the exclusive domain of the white Creole elite. Pettway's emphasis on African-inspired spirituality as a source of knowledge and a means to sacred authority for black Cuban writers deepens our understanding of Manzano and Plácido not as mere imitators but as aesthetic and political pioneers. As Pettway suggests, black Latin American authors did not abandon their African religious heritage to assimilate wholesale to the Catholic Church. By recognizing the wisdom of African ancestors, they procured power in the struggle for black liberation.
The Latino Body: Crisis Identities in American Literary and Cultural Memory by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to access (also in print)ISBN: 9780814752142Publication Date: 2007The Latino Body tells the story of the United States Latino body politic and its relation to the state: how the state configures Latino subjects and how Latino subjects have in turn altered the state. Lázaro Lima charts the interrelated groups that define themselves as Latinos and examines how these groups have responded to calls for unity and nationally shared conceptions of American cultural identity. He contends that their responses, in times of cultural or political crisis, have given rise to profound cultural transformations, enabling the so-called "Latino subject" to emerge. Analyzing a variety of cultural, literary, artistic, and popular texts from the nineteenth century to the present, Lima dissects the ways in which the Latino body has been imagined, dismembered, and reimagined anew, providing one of the first comprehensive accounts of the construction of Latino cultural identity in the United States.
The Latino Continuum and the Nineteenth-Century Americas: Literature, Translation, and Historiography by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to access (also in print)ISBN: 9780198871484Publication Date: 2021The Latino Continuum and the Nineteenth-Century Americas argues that the process of recovering Latina/o figures and writings in the nineteenth century does not merely create a bridge between the US and Latin American countries, peoples, and literatures, as they are currently understood.Instead, it reveals their fundamentally interdependent natures, politically, socially, historically, and aesthetically, thereby recognizing the degree of mutual imbrication of their peoples and literatures of the period. Largely archived in Spanish, it addresses concerns palpably felt within (and integral to) the US and beyond. English-language works also find a place on this continuum and have real implications for the political and cultural life of hispanophone and anglophone communities in the US. Moreover, the central role of Latina/o translations signal the global and the local nature of the continuum. For the Latino Continuum embeds layered and complex political and literary contexts and overlooked histories, situated as it is at the crossroads of both hemispheric and translatlantic currents of exchange often effaced by the logic of borders-national, cultural, religious, linguistic and temporal. To recover this continuum of Latinidad, which is neither confined to the US or Latin American nation states nor located primarily within them, is to recover forgotten histories of the hemisphere, and to find new ways of seeing the past as we have understood it. The figuresof the Felix Varela, Miguel Teurbe Tolon, Eusebio Guiteras, Jose Marti and Martin Morua Delgado serve as points of departures for this reconceptualization of the intersection between American, Latin American, Cuban, and Latinx studies.
The Latino Nineteenth Century by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in Virgo (also available in print)ISBN: 9781479896837Publication Date: 2016A retelling of U.S., Latin American, and Latino/a literary history through writing by Latinos/as who lived in the United States during the long nineteenth century Written by both established and emerging scholars, the essays in The Latino Nineteenth Century engage materials in Spanish and English and genres ranging from the newspaper to the novel, delving into new texts and areas of research as they shed light on well-known writers. This volume situates nineteenth-century Latino intellectuals and writers within crucial national, hemispheric, and regional debates. The Latino Nineteenth Century offers a long-overdue corrective to the Anglophone and nation-based emphasis of American literary history. Contributors track Latino/a lives and writing through routes that span Philadelphia to San Francisco and roots that extend deeply into Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South Americas, and Spain. Readers will find in the rich heterogeneity of texts and authors discussed fertile ground for discussion and will discover the depth, diversity, and long-standing presence of Latinos/as and their literature in the United States.
The Routledge Concise History of Latino/a Literature by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to access (also in print)ISBN: 9780415667876Publication Date: 2013The Routledge Concise History of Latino/a Literature presents the first comprehensive overview of these popular, experimental and diverse literary cultures. Frederick Luis Aldama traces a historical path through Latino/a literature, examining both the historical and political contexts of the works, as well as their authors and the readership. He also provides an enlightening analysis of: the differing sub-groups of Latino/a literature, including Mexican American, Cuban American, Puerto Rican American, Dominican American, and Central and South American émigré authors established and emerging literary trends such as the postmodern, historical, chica-lit storytelling formats and the graphic novel key literary themes, including gender and sexuality, feminist and queer voices, and migration and borderlands. The author's methodology and interpretation of a wealth of information will put this rich and diverse area of literary culture into a new light for scholars. The book's student-friendly features such as a glossary, guide to further reading, explanatory text boxes and chapter summaries, make this the ideal text for anyone approaching the area for the first time.
The Routledge History of Latin American Culture by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to accessISBN: 9781315697253Publication Date: 2017The Routledge History of Latin American Culture delves into the cultural history of Latin America from the end of the colonial period to the twentieth century, focusing on the formation of national, racial, and ethnic identity, the culture of resistance, the effects of Eurocentrism, and the process of cultural hybridity to show how the people of Latin America have participated in the making of their own history. The selections from an interdisciplinary group of scholars range widely across the geographic spectrum of the Latin American world and forms of cultural production. Exploring the means and meanings of cultural production, the essays illustrate the myriad ways in which cultural output illuminates political and social themes in Latin American history. From religion to food, from political resistance to artistic representation, this handbook showcases the work of scholars from the forefront of Latin American cultural history, creating an essential reference volume for any scholar of modern Latin America.
Translating Empire: Jose Marti, Migrant Latino Subjects, and American Modernities by Call Number: E-book: Use link in Virgo record to access (also in print)ISBN: 9780822343257Publication Date: 2009In Translating Empire, Laura Lomas uncovers how late nineteenth-century Latino migrant writers developed a prescient critique of U.S. imperialism, one that prefigures many of the concerns about empire, race, and postcolonial subjectivity animating American studies today. During the 1880s and early 1890s, the Cuban journalist, poet, and revolutionary José Martí and other Latino migrants living in New York City translated North American literary and cultural texts into Spanish. Lomas reads the canonical literature and popular culture of the United States in the Gilded Age through the eyes of Martí and his fellow editors, activists, orators, and poets. In doing so, she reveals how, in the process of translating Anglo-American culture into a Latino-American idiom, the Latino migrant writers invented a modernist aesthetics to criticize U.S. expansionism and expose Anglo stereotypes of Latin Americans. Lomas challenges longstanding conceptions about Martí through readings of neglected texts and reinterpretations of his major essays. Against the customary view that emphasizes his strong identification with Ralph Waldo Emerson and Walt Whitman, the author demonstrates that over several years, Martí actually distanced himself from Emerson's ideas and conveyed alarm at Whitman's expansionist politics. She questions the association of Martí with pan-Americanism, pointing out that in the 1880s, the Cuban journalist warned against foreign geopolitical influence imposed through ostensibly friendly meetings and the promotion of hemispheric peace and "free" trade. Lomas finds Martí undermining racialized and sexualized representations of America in his interpretations of Buffalo Bill and other rituals of westward expansion, in his self-published translation of Helen Hunt Jackson's popular romance novel Ramona, and in his comments on writing that stereotyped Latino/a Americans as inherently unfit for self-government. With Translating Empire, Lomas recasts the contemporary practice of American studies in light of Martí's late-nineteenth-century radical decolonizing project.
A World Not to Come: A History of Latino Writing and Print Culture by Call Number: Clemons print - PS153 .H56 C68 2013ISBN: 9780674072619Publication Date: 2013A shift of global proportions occurred in May 1808. Napoleon Bonaparte invaded Spain and deposed the Spanish king. Overnight, the Hispanic world was transformed forever. Hispanics were forced to confront modernity, and to look beyond monarchy and religion for new sources of authority. A World Not to Come focuses on how Spanish Americans in Texas used writing as a means to establish new sources of authority, and how a Latino literary and intellectual life was born in the New World. The geographic locale that became Texas changed sovereignty four times, from Spanish colony to Mexican republic to Texan republic and finally to a U.S. state. Following the trail of manifestos, correspondence, histories, petitions, and periodicals, Ra#65533;l Coronado goes to the writings of Texas Mexicans to explore how they began the slow process of viewing the world as no longer being a received order but a produced order. Through reconfigured publics, they debated how best to remake the social fabric even as they were caught up in a whirlwind of wars, social upheaval, and political transformations. Yet, while imagining a new world, Texas Mexicans were undergoing a transformation from an elite community of "civilizing" conquerors to an embattled, pauperized, racialized group whose voices were annihilated by war. In the end, theirs was a world not to come. Coronado sees in this process of racialization the birth of an emergent Latino culture and literature.
- Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary HeritageVirgo results for Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage gives print and online access to some anthology volumes as well as many publications in the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage project series.