Skip to main content

HIST 1501: Law's Empire: Crime in the British Empire

Introductory/Background Information

Subject encyclopedias can provide detailed and authoritative background information that can help you to begin your research. The articles can define terms, give an overview of a topic and suggest directions for narrowing your research. They can also provide bibliographies of books and articles for more in-depth research.

Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000. 2001.  6 volumes. Alderman Library Reference Room. Vol. 3 contains articles on "Deviance, Crime, and Social Control," but other voumes may be of interest as well.Call #: HN373 .E63 2001

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic History -- Extensive bibliographic essays linking the history of early modern Europe  to its Atlantic empires. Crimes like piracy, smuggling, heresy and witchcraft gained a wider scope as colonists transplanted European law to the New World.

Finding Books

VIRGO-- The U.Va. Library Catalog 

Keyword search should be "Google-like," just enter whatever terms you want; no need for connectors like and.
Will search the title, author's name or description of the item.

There are also some Subject keyword searches that will be helpful  [Change drop-down menu to "Subject," will search only the subject headings that have been applied to the item]:

              Ex., Inquisition [other other topic keyword like "witchcraft Germany"] sources

Other subject keywords also indicate primary source:
Archives*
Correspondence*
Diaries*
Early works to 1800
Facsimilies
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Pamphlets
Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only) 
Songs and music
Sources
Speeches, addresses, etc.*
Treaties

*Used with individuals' names,classes of persons (e.g., soldiers), and organizations.

  VIRGO Classic In Basic Search mode choose "Begins With" and then select "Title" when searching for a known item, or "Subject" when searching for terms like Inquisition--will reveal different subdivisions--for example, Italy or Spain.

Google Books Searches the full text of thousands of books. If used in conjunction with Amazon.com full text search of a book, can get most of the text of a book.

Early Modern Resources Bibliographies: Crime, Law and Order, c. 1500-1800 Bibliography of books and articles related to crime in early modern Eruope, especially Britain, organized by Sharon Howard of the University of Sheffield.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. Searchable text and page images. Because of early modern variants in spelling, it may be easier to take advantage of the subject terms. Take advantage of the "Select from a List" options. (You can search within the list.) You can do the same thing for full text keywords, as well as search for variant spellings.)

 

Finding Scholarly Articles

British Government Documents

Old Bailey Online: The Proceedings of London's Central Criminal Court, 1674-1913 -- trial summaries, growing more extensive in the 18th century. The website now includes the texts of all known surviving Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts, detailed narratives of the lives and deaths of convicts executed at Tyburn were published between 1676 and 1772.

Historical Newspapers

Getting Materials Not in U.Va. Library--Interlibrary Loan

Unavailable through VIRGO or unavailable in full-text via our article databases does not mean inaccessible or even seriously inconvenient. U.Va. Library has a great interlibrary loan service that should put the needed article in your inbox or the book in your hands within a few days of your requesting it.

Create an account with our Interlibrary Loan Department (log on as first-time user).

Use Worldcat to identify other libraries which should have your book. (Best to stay on UVa Worldcat).

Also, don't forget to Recall items that have been checked out in VIRGO. The borrower of the item has 10 days to return it or have his/her borrowing privileges blocked. (You can also request the title through ILL should recall prove to be a delay.)