Welcome
Welcome to the Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering's library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your librarian is Erich Purpur.
Each school at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Erich for help with your assignments. This service is available to all Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Erich can help with: learning how to use the Library online, brainstorming your research topic, developing your search strategy, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your literature reviews, tracking down resources, and citation management. Erich can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for your field of study.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowCombines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
- Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus) This link opens in a new windowA large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
- ASTM Science and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- Aerospace Database (1962-present) This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles and technical reports in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. Covers basis and applied research and technological developments in supporting research fields.
- Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new windowUse this link to search AIAA publications; not all found items may be available online. Ask a librarian for assistance in locating and obtaining needed documents.
Research Support - StatLab
The UVA Library StatLab provides free consulting and training to UVA students, faculty, and staff. StatLab can help with the following:
- Statistical analysis
- Cleaning and wrangling data
- Selecting an appropriate statistical model
- Data Visualization (plotting or graphing)
- 1 on 1 training with statistical software
- Debugging or resolving code issues
To set up an appointment, email us at statlab@virginia.edu. We can work with you in person, over zoom, or via email. Walk-in Hours are available during the fall and spring semesters
Help me with APA citations
For most courses in EHD our preferred citation style is American Psychological Association (APA): 7th Edition. APA Style is used by writers in many disciplines around the world for concise, powerful, and persuasive scholarly communication.