Subject Guide
Research Librarian for the Humanities
Start Your Research with The Basics
- Virgo: UVa Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new windowVirgo lists books, journals, videos, audio, manuscripts, and Internet resources owned or licensed by the University Library (Main, Brown, Clemons, etc.), Health Sciences Library, Law Library, and Darden School Library.
- Sociology Research GuideIf you get lost, you can also search the Sociology Subject Guide for good places to start your research.
- Women, Gender, and Sexuality Research GuideThe Women, Gender, and Sexuality Research Guide will have suggestions for where to find WGS materials.
- Public Policy Research GuideUse this research guide to find out more about public policy. Covers topics such as Economics, Education, Politics & Public Policy, and Sociology, Psychology, & Leadership.
Focus on Peer Reviewed Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
TIP: Remember that if you are off-grounds when you want to access these databases, be sure to go through a library website so you are prompted for your Computing ID. You will then be able to view the articles without having to pay for them.
TIP: Use the the "Find @ UVA" button to get the full text.
TIP: Limit your search results to "peer-reviewed" articles to get scholarly articles.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
Take Advantage of Library Help & Tools
- Ask a LibrarianWe are always available to help with your research. You can chat, email, phone, text, or come visit a library in person!
Librarians love to meet with students! Feel free to contact me directly for a one-on-one research consultation. My contact info is on the right.
- Keep Track of Your CitationsThis guide introduces you to Citation Managers which are helpful for formatting bibliographies and citations automatically using different citation styles including APA, MLA, etc. Use in conjunction with MS Word to cite in your paper as you go. Try RefWorks or Zotero if you have never used one before.
- Writing Help Research GuideGuide includes many good starting places for getting started with writing for college.