Skip to Main Content

Using Special Collections

Welcome to Special Collections

a photo of people walking in and out of the library; there is a sign that says Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library. There is a table with waterbottles on the right

All are welcome to visit the Harrison/Small Building, which houses the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library as well as permanent and temporary library exhibits. The building and library have differing hours. 

The Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library holds more than 16 million objects including manuscripts, archival records, rare books, maps, broadsides, photographs, audio and video recordings and more.

Because of the rare and unique nature of our collections, materials do not circulate and are housed in a closed stacks; we make the materials available in the Reading Room through patron requests. 

Everyone is welcome to research and explore our collections; you do not have to be affiliated with UVA. We are here to preserve and share the Library's unique primary sources for the use of UVA’s academic community as well as the general public.  

How to Use this Guide

This LibGuide will help you plan your visit to Special Collections, providing an overview of our policies and information about our Reading Room, as well as how to create an account with Special Collections, search our catalog, request materials, and create an appointment in the Reading Room. In order to look at material in the library, visitors must register to create a Special Collections account.