Visiting Special Collections

Please create a Special Collections account by going to the Albert and Shirley Small Library home page and following the instructions below:

1. Click the blue Sign In or Create account button on the righthand side of home page.
2. Sign in as UVA or non UVA user. 
3. Click on the First Time Users link.
4. Agree to the Small Reading Room User Agreement  by using the First Time Users Click Here button at the bottom of the page.
5. Complete and submit the  New User Registration Form.
6. After submitting the New User Registration Form  you will be directed to your new Special Collections account homepage and you may start requesting materials. A separate request will need to be made for each item you wish to view.

1. If you have already located an item of interest in the online Virgo catalog click on the blue title.

2. Scroll down on the Item Detail page to the Availability section and choose Request this in Special Collections.

3. Open the drop down menu labelled Select the Item you want by clicking on the down arrow and selecting the box/volume of your choice. 

• If there is no dropdown menu available please use the Add additional instructions if necessary comment box to note your chosen box/volume (if your collection contains only one box or there is no choice of volumes just click Next Step: Go to the Special Collections Request System).
• After making your selection from the dropdown menu click Next Step.

4. You will be directed to sign in to your Special Collections account as a UVA or non UVA user.

5. After sign in you will be directed to a New Manuscript/Archives Request OR New Book and Printed Materials Request form.

6. Scroll down on the form past the Item Information field (this information will be imported automatically from the Virgo record) to the Request Information field and click on the blue Schedule Appointment button.

 7. Choose your date and time of visit. Please choose 1 hour for Length of  Appointment time even if you plan to stay for multiple hours or the whole day. Click the blue Create Appointment button.

8. Click the blue Submit Request button at the bottom of the page. Your first request has now been submitted and you will be directed back to your Special Collections account homepage.

9. If you wish to make further requests use the New Requests bar then choose Search Virgo. Follow the above steps for each item you would like to request.

10. Remember that up to 6 requests are permitted at a time in the Reading Room, however, further requests may be saved to your queue using the Save Request for Later feature instead of Submit Request. 

11. Save Request for Later materials may be submitted during your visit from your Special Collections account as you finish with each material and return it to a Reading Room staff member.

1. Navigate to the Small Special Collections homepage and scroll down to the blue  Sign in or Create Account button.
2. You will be directed to sign in to your Special Collections account as a UVA or non UVA user.
3. From the sign in page you will be directed to your Special Collections account homepage. Use the New Requests and Search Virgo to locate materials of interest. 
4. Once you have located an item of interest in the online Virgo catalog click on the blue title.
5. Scroll down on the Item Detail page to the Availability section and choose Request this in Special Collections.
6. Open the drop down menu labelled Select the Item you want by clicking on the down arrow and selecting the box/volume of your choice.
   • If there is no dropdown menu available please use the Add additional instructions if necessary comment box to note your chosen box/volume (if your collection contains only one box or there is no choice of volumes just click Next Step: Go to the Special Collections Request System).
7. After making your selection from the dropdown menu click Next Step.You will be directed to sign in to your Special Collections account as a UVA or non UVA user.
8.  After sign in you will be directed to a New Manuscript/Archives Request OR New Book and Printed Materials Request form.
9. Scroll down on the form past the Item Information field (this information will be imported automatically from the Virgo record) to the Request Information field and click on the blue Schedule Appointment button.
10. Choose your date and time of visit. Please choose 1 hour for Length of  Appointment time even if you plan to stay for multiple hours or the whole day. Click the blue Create Appointment button.
11. Click the blue Submit Request button at the bottom of the page. Your first request has now been submitted and you will be directed back to your Special Collections account homepage.
12. If you wish to make further requests use the New Requests bar then choose Search Virgo. Follow the above steps for each item you would like to request.
13. Remember that up to 6 requests are permitted at a time in the Reading Room, however, further requests may be saved to your queue using the Save Request for Later feature instead of Submit Request. 
14. Save Request for Later materials may be submitted during your visit from your Special Collections account as you finish with each material and return it to a Reading Room staff member.