Research Librarian for Architecture
Suggest a Resource
Resources
- Virgo: UVa Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new windowVirgo lists books, journals, videos, audio, manuscripts, and Internet resources owned or licensed by the University Library (Main, Brown, Clemons, etc.), Health Sciences Library, Law Library, and Darden School Library.
- EBSCOHost Databases This link opens in a new windowOver 40 databases of journal articles, books, and other documents in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple databases at the same time
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFind articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning in journals from many countries. Coverage begins in the 1930s, but some journals are indexed back to the the 1860s. Many citations include abstracts.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Book Citation Index- Science (2005-), Book Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (2005-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-), Index Chemicus (1993-), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - WorldCat.org This link opens in a new windowOnline listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. Some UVa books are not included. UVa users will see full records and holdings; others will get brief information.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. It currently contains over 9,600 sources from 160 countries.
-
Venice Project Center
Collected information, data sets, tools, visualizations (some in real-time), and reports on Venice. Includes historic timelines, and lots of information about the built environment. -
Vaporetti a Venezia
Real-time visualization of the movements of vaporetti in Venice
- ARTStor This link opens in a new windowArtstor is now on JSTOR.
Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design.
- Search Flickr by MapFind images that are Geotagged by searching by map. Helps you locate images from a precise location. Zoom in, then click "Search the Map" and add your keywords.
- Search Instagram by MapWorldCam lets you search user submitted Instagram photos by their tagged location. Try Rivanna River - Woolen Mills Dam!
- Grand Tour This link opens in a new windowThe Grand Tour is a source of information about daily life in the eighteenth century. This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections. The collection includes letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps.
- ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new windowContains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Search in the "Primary Text" section to get a sense of how a term appeared in literature.
Reminder: The library has Virtual Reality (VR) equipment available on a walk-up basis in Clemons Library. There are a number of VR films available about Venice.