Journal Finder
- Journal FinderUse the Journal Finder to find out if UVa has a journal online fulltext or in print format,
Enter the title of the journal in the 2nd search box in the Journal Finder to determine if it is available online.
Enter the title of the journal in the 1st search box in the Journal Finder to see if it is in print. If it is and you are taking classes on-Grounds, you would need to go to the library to get the journal. If you are enrolled in the Curry Distance Education program, you can request a digital copy of the article using the library's interlibrary loan service.
Dissertations
If you need a copy of a issertation that is not available online full text, you can use the Library's free Interlibrary Loan Service to try and obtain a copy.
In addition to the databases below, you can also locate dissertations that are distributed as open access dissertations by searching Google using the the title, author. or keyword although identifying a dissertation from the retrieved results is a bit challenging due to the lack of meta tagging..
- Dissertations & Thesis PROQUESTFull text (PDF) of most U.S. dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
- Association of African UniversitiesThere have been technical difficulties originating with this database.
- Australian Digital Theses (dissertations)There have been technical difficulties originating with this database.
- Center for Research Libraries (Dissertations from around the world. UVa is a member of CRL)
- CyberThesis (French)
- Dart Europe
- EThOs
- Index to Theses (United Kingdom and Ireland)
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
- Open Thesis
- Theses (Dissertations) Canada
Handbooks
The CLIC has a collection of more than 300 handbooks. BE sure to check here as new handbooks are added periodically. Handbooks are a great resource for locating best practices, research theories, names of authors, background material, overviews of topics, and good keyword terminology to use when you search databases for journal articles and other materials to inform and support your research.
The handbooks are located to the right of the door as you enter the CLIC. You cannot check out handbooks; however you can scan (free if you use the digital sender in the CLIC) or photocopy them for 8 cents per page using the public printer in the CLIC and your Cavalier debit card
Sample Handbooks
- International Handbook on the Preparation and Development of School LeadersHandbook Area in the CLIC: LB 2805 .I4544 2008
Table of contents - International Handbook of Educational Policy (2 volumes: Parts 1 & 2)Handbook Area in the CLIC: LC 71 .I495 2005
Table of Contents - The Routledge International Companion to Multicultural Education
- The Routledge International Handbook of Globalization Studies
- Routledge International Handbook of Higher Education (ONLINE)2009
- The Routledge International Handbook of Teacher and School Development
Books
- VIRGO
- List of books about Comparative Education in VIRGO
- Google BooksSome Google books are full text, while others allow searching within the book by keyword which can be very useful
Country Overviews
- CIA FactbookEach country overview contains a map and information about people, geography, the economy, government, communication, transportation, and the military. This Central Intelligence Agency publication is available free on the Internet.
- Guide to Countries of the WorldThis handbook provides a wealth of information for every country in the world. Each entry gives a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. In addition, for each country there is a clear map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. Invaluable supplementary material includes detailed indicator tables showing income and poverty, health and population etc, and list of international organizations, such as the EU and the African Union, with essential information about these groupings.
- BackGround NotesEach U.S. State Department country report includes information about the geography, history, government, economy, political conditions, foreign relations, and travel.
- Country BriefingsThese overviews, from the Economist, emphasize the political and economic character of the country.
- Country ProfilesBasic facts, political information and media for each country, with links to recent news stories, compiled by the BBC.
- Country StudiesThis Internet site provides a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and instritutions of countries throughout the world, published by the Library of Congress.
- HRAF Human Relations Area Files databaseA searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Now called eHRAF World Cultures.
- World NewsMust use Proxy or VPN UVaAnywhere to authenticate.
This is an Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics. These sites are carefully selected for their long-term value, favoring those with cost-free, authoritative information and analysis online.
Country Statistics
- Countries and EconomiesProduced by the World Bank
- International StatisticsPrepared by staff at Columbia University. If links on this page don't work, try accessing the link from a UVa resource.
- LexisNexis Statistical
- National Geographic Maps and More
- OFF STATS: Official Statistics on the WebProduced by the University of Auckland.
- UNESCO StatisticsProduced by the UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) - the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
- United Nations Data
Inter-Governmental Organizations
- African Development Bank (AfDB)
- Asian Development Bank (ADB)
- Inter-Agency Network for Education in Emergencies (INEE)
- Interamerican Development Bank (IDB)
- Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
- Organización de Estados Iberoamericanos
- UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
- UNESCOUnder the EDUCATION tab are other tabs such as THEMES, NETWORKS, ABOUT, ETC. When you are on the THEME tab, you will see many resources such as PUBLICATIONS!
- UNESCO Institutes and Centres for Education
- UNICEF
- World Bank
- Open Doors
International Non Governmental Organizations
Governmental Bi-Lateral Development Assistance Organizations
Comparative Education Journals that are Peer Reviewed
You may be asked to find articles in peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals. You can click on the link for each journal and search within that journal for your topic.
Or you can look for articles in these journals when you're conducting searches in the research databases. To do so, go to a database listed on the left and type in the name of the journal and press SEARCH. If articles from that journal appear, you can start a new search and this time, you could enter the journal title in the first box and then enter keywords or authors in the second search box.
If you are using these resources off-Grounds, you will need to authenticate with Netbadge.
- American Anthropologist
- American Educational Research Journal
- American Ethnologist
- Anthropology and Education Quarterly
- British Journal of Educational Studies
- Comparative Education
- Comparative Education Review
- Compare: A Journal of Comparative and International EducationPublisher
Electronic access is only available from 1994-2008. Available in print from 1977 until 2005. Use the Interlibrary Loan Services for more recent articles. - Convergence: The International Journal of Research into New Media Technologies
- Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis
- Educational Policy
- Educational Researcher
- European Journal of Education
- Globalisation, Societies & Education
- Higher Education
- Higher Education Quarterly
- Higher Education Research & Development
- Innovative Higher Education
- International Education Journal: Comparative Perspectives
- International Journal of Educational Development
- International Journal of Educational Research
- International Journal of Intercultural Relations
- International Review of Education
- Journal of Higher Education
- Journal of Higher Education Policy and Management
- Journal of Hispanic Higher Education
- Journal of Research in International Education
- Journal of Studies in International Education
- Planning for Higher Education
- Prospects: Quarterly Review of Comparative Education
- Research in Higher Education
- Review of Educational Research
- Review of Higher Education
- Review of Research in Education
- Studies in Higher Education
- Teaching and Teacher Education
Associations
Below are a few examples of associations that are related to comparative education. The web sites for associations frequently have links to the journals and other publications they produced. They often post useful sources of information on policies, reforms and research within their areas of interest. They may also provide career information, have blogs, post videos, promote conferences, and provide information about student memberships in their associations. They also provide instructions for authors who wish to submit articles to their journals for publications.
Open Access Peer Reviewed Journals
Peer Reviewed Journals
- What is a peer reviewed journal?
- Limit your database search to peer reviewed journals
- Use Google to find out if a journal is peer reviewedGo to Google, type in the journal title, look for the link leading to the journal publisher's website. Info about peer review is often located in AUTHOR instructions or in the MISSION statement on that page.
Plagiarism
The link below is just one sample of the many resources you can use to find information about olagiarism.
APA Style
You will need to write your research paper using a consistent bibliographic style. Curry students usually are assigned to use APA style. However, other styles are also available.
You can learn to use RefWorks citation software by contacting a CLIC librarian at 434-924-7040. RefWorks automatically generates, for example, APA formatted citations. You can also elect to write the citations in the style you have been assigned to use, In either case, the links below should prove useful.
- APA Blog
- APA Guide by Hacker and Fister
- Purdue University's APA Owl Guide
- RefWorks LOGIN
- EBSCO Database Creates APA CitationsA step-by-step tutorial on how to search 7 Ebsco Education databases and either print, email or save the citation into APA style.
- APA's Basics of Writing an APA Paper
- Locating DOIs for your APA References You can paste in one reference at a time or mutlitples. Read the instructions carefully to avoid errors.
Literature Reviews
Questions? Monday - Friday 8am-5pm
Ask Your Curry Librarians
Need help finding information for a research project or have questions about borrowing library books? Contact us. We are happy to help with any questions about research or library services.
CALL: Kay Buchanan 434-982-2664
CALL: Carole Lohman 434-924-7040
EMAIL: Email the Curry Librarians
- CHATChat requires JavaScript.
Questions? Evenings and Weekends
Ask a U.Va. Librarian
- CHAT with a U.Va. Librarian
- Call a U.Va Librarian434.260.1882
ITS Technology Help "Desk": Available 24/7
- Ways to Contact the ITS Help Desk
- CHAT with the Help Desk Staff
- PHONE TOLL FREE 24 Hours a Day, 7 Days a Week866-469-4866
- ITS Help Desk: Online Request Form
Library Services
- Accounts you need at U.Va.
- Interlibrary Loan ServiceIf none of the U.Va. libraries have the journal or book you need in print or online, use the Library's free Interlibrary Loan Service request form to request it. You must register first. Students and faculty in the Curry Off-Grounds program should register by clicking on the "Distance Education/SCPS link. Other students should register using the "Graduate & Undergraduate student" link.
The library will get a PDF copy of the journal article or a book chapter, for example and email it to you. If you request a book, you will be sent an email once it is available for you to pick up from the U.Va. library that you designated as your pickup library. If you are in the off-Grounds program, the book will be mailed to you without charge and you will need to pay return postage and mail it back, or you can drop it off at one of the U.Va. libraries. - Library Hours
- Printing and Photocopying
- RefWorksIf you are off-Grounds, we recommend that you install and connect to the databases and RefWorks using VPN UVaAnywhere as opposed to just connecting through Netbadge as there have been issues with the transfer of the citations.
1. Tutorials and more - Renew Your Library Books
- Scanning in the CLIC
Other Research Subject Guides
The librarians have created many research guides to help you find resources for your research papers, journal articles you are writing, etc.
Overview
This guide was developed by the CLIC librarians to support Comparative Education classes at the U.Va. Curry School of Education.
Updated 1/18/2013
Please give us suggestions to improve this guide!
Please give us suggestions to improve this guide!

Loading...
