Skill Building
- Internet for Civil Engineering
Use this free, interactive tutorial to improve your Internet research skills. - Internet for Construction
Use this free, interactive tutorial to improve your Internet research skills.
Search Google
Search query:
Search Google Scholar
Enter names of authors, titles of articles, key words, etc. in the search box and then check in the results for full text access using the
button. NOTE that not all online resources are indexed by Google Scholar!
Science and Engineering Web Search Engines
While Google is a fine search engine, there are other web search tools that are optimized for science and technology searches. Try one of these instead!
- Athenus.com
A searchable directory of science and technology websites. - Intute - Science, Engineering and Technology
A UK-based science and engineering web directory featuring resources chosen by human selectors for their quality. - OSTI One Stop Search Service Provides links to several types of web searching and federated searching of government-produced web resources.
- Q-Sensei
An experimental web search engine that searches open-access material from ArXiv and PubMed Central and a few other related resources. - Science.gov
A searchable directory of U.S. government web resources considered most important and useful by the agencies that sponsor them. - ScienceResearch.com
A free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. - Scirus - for Scientific Information Only
Scirus searches for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information. - Scitation
Discover more than one million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers. - TechXrtra
Find articles, books, websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more. - WorldWideScience.org
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Select Sites
- IABSE Online Lectures
Offers a wide range of Lecture Series, including Web Casting of Lectures, Short Courses, Videos and Animations related to Structural Engineering.
Subject Librarian |
Fred O'BryantContact Info:
Brown Science and Engineering Library
Office: I-045 Clark Hall
Telephone: 434-924-6836
Send Email
Subjects:
Aerospace Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Statistics, Systems Engineering
Brown Science and Engineering Library
Office: I-045 Clark Hall
Telephone: 434-924-6836
Send Email
Subjects:
Aerospace Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Statistics, Systems Engineering
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait