Librarian Info
Brown Science & Engineering Library
Office - I046
ep9k@virginia.edu
Technical Standards
A technical standard is a set of guidelines or specifications established by organizations to ensure the safety, quality, compatibility, and performance of products, processes, or services. These standards help ensure consistency and interoperability across industries.
- ASTM Science and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFind articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
- Ei Compendex*Plus This link opens in a new windowA large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
- ASM Alloy Center Database This link opens in a new windowThe ASM Alloy Center Database™ Alloy Finder is a database of more than 120,000 alloy designations,specifications, standards, and commercial grades in the U.S. and globally. The latest release includes nearly 14,500 new and updated ferrous and nonferrous alloy standards specification data sheets: UNS, ASTM, ASME, and International standards (BSI, BIS, JIS, etc.).
- MADCAD: Building Codes Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of fully-searchable building codes and standards. Includes ICC and NFPA codes, ADA and HUD guidelines, and selected codes for Virginia and Maryland.
ANSI Univ Outreach
The ANSI University Outreach Program, a pilot program of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) makes available complimentary copies of International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) standards to individual professors for use in their classrooms. Participants in the program will also have access to members of the U.S. standarization community who can provide case studies, model tutorials, and other educational resources.
The program is open to all disciplines. It is available to faculty only. Click on the link above for details.