Librarian Info
Erich Purpur
Contact:
Clark Hall
Brown Science & Engineering Library
Office - I046
ep9k@virginia.edu
Brown Science & Engineering Library
Office - I046
ep9k@virginia.edu
434 924 1557
All Civil & Environmental Engineering Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
- ASCE Civil Engineering Database1970-present
Bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. - Civil Engineering Abstracts1966-present
Search for publications on civil engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
- Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus) This link opens in a new window1964-Present
Large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews, standards, patents, handbooks and other materials.
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts1971-present
Search for articles and research reports relating to earthquake engineering and hazard mitigation. Most citations include abstracts.
- Energy Citations Database This link opens in a new windowProvides free access to over 2.3 million science research citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and some books on topics such as agriculture, the ecosystem, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, law, and policy, and urban planning.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management This link opens in a new window1967-present
Multidisciplinary database of environmental sciences information from over 4000 journals as well as conference proceedings and books. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window1693-present
Search for all types of publications on the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. This search also includes international publications from GeoRef in Process.
- Mechanical & Transportation Engineering AbstractsSearch for publications of all kinds on mechanical and transportation engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.
- ProQuest DatabasesProQuest is a suite of databases covering many subjects. This search defaults to "all technology" but may be customized to more narrowly-focused databases as well.
- TRID - The TRIS and ITRD DatabaseTRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
- Water Resources Abstracts (CSA)1967-present
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new window1981-present
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.
Interlibrary Services
Although the Library owns or has access to many items, there will be times that you need something not owned. When this occurs, you can ask us to borrow the item or obtain a copy of an article from another library. To use this service you must be a faculty, staff or student at UVa and you must complete a brief registration with the ILS service. Please see one of the following links for more information:
Newspapers
The Library maintains subscriptions and access to a wide variety of domestic and foreign newspapers and news sources. For information about available newspapers please see the guide page below.