Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Maps - Print & Digital  Tags: maps geography government  

Last update: May 21st, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/maps  Print Guide  RSS Updates

More Maps at U.Va.             Print Page
  
 

More U.Va. Map Collecitons

Other Map Collections in the University Libraries

Special Collections Library
Special Collections holds over 5,000 flat maps that complement the strengths of the rare books and manuscripts collections in the subject areas of early Americana, the Southeastern United States, Virginia, and the Civil War. The maps vary widely in their scope and purpose and include exploration, navigation, property and road surveys, railroad maps, postal routes, Civil War battlefields and plans, geological, mining, geographical, topographical, census and demographic maps, among others. Most maps in the Special Collections area are not cataloged in Virgo, but may be located using the card files in the public service area. The collection is strongest in Virginia maps, but it's worth a visit to see what you can locate in the catalog.

Scholarly Resources will digitize out of copyright maps from Special Collections.  Digitization fees are assessed in some cases.  Contact digitalservices@virginia.edu for more information

Fine Arts Library Image Collection (Fine Arts Library)
The image collection in the Fine Arts Library holds a number of slides of maps. To get a sampling, you can try searching in VIRGO Advanced Searching for the word "map" and specify ITEM TYPE: "slide." Not all of these will be found in VIRGO, so you should pay a visit to their card files.

Atlases (Alderman, Fine Arts stacks)
Atlases are a significant source of maps, especially older maps, but not all atlases are housed in Map Room due to space. Those that are found in Map Room are primarily recent reference volumes or unusual items. Other atlases, that can be found in the stacks of Alderman, Fine Arts or Science and Engineering Libraries, are usually found in VIRGO.

 

Contact Information

Profile ImageBarbie Selby
Contact Info:
Alderman Library
Room 511
University of Virginia
434-982-2677
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Information, Sociology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait