The GES office provides information on UVa facilities and infrastructure to the University community.
Our services include customized cartography, GIS mapping and data - available in ESRI or AutoCAD format, energy modeling, energy use tracking, and detailed, accurate mapping of our base layers (buildings, parking lots, roads, etc.), utility infrastructures, including watersheds and storm water management BMPs. For GIS services, use the Service Request Tab on our web-page: http://gis.virginia.edu/Pages/default.aspx
Our Construction Document Archive includes architectural and engineering drawings and specifications for University buildings, landscapes, and infrastructure. This collection includes numerous historical maps, surveys, and aerial photographs of the University Grounds and Charlottesville. Materials are available digitally and include Historic Preservation Resources, Archaeological Investigations, Planning Materials, Geological Boring logs, and much more. A searchable database of our collection is available online here. Access to the digital files is by request only. Contact us at email@example.com or 243-5367.
Special Collections Library
Special Collections holds over 5,000 flat maps that complement the strengths of the rare books and manuscripts collections in the subject areas of early Americana, the Southeastern United States, Virginia, and the Civil War. The maps vary widely in their scope and purpose and include exploration, navigation, property and road surveys, railroad maps, postal routes, Civil War battlefields and plans, geological, mining, geographical, topographical, census and demographic maps, among others. Most maps in the Special Collections area are not cataloged in Virgo, but may be located using the card files in the public service area. The collection is strongest in Virginia maps, but it's worth a visit to see what you can locate in the catalog.
Scholarly Resources will digitize out of copyright maps from Special Collections. Digitization fees are assessed in some cases. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org for more information
The image collection in the Fine Arts Library holds a number of slides of maps. To get a sampling, you can try searching in VIRGO Advanced Searching for the word "map" and specify ITEM TYPE: "slide." Not all of these will be found in VIRGO, so you should pay a visit to their card files.
Atlases are a significant source of maps, especially older maps, but not all atlases are housed in Map Room due to space. Those that are found in Map Room are primarily recent reference volumes or unusual items. Other atlases, that can be found in the stacks of Alderman, Fine Arts or Science and Engineering Libraries, are usually found in VIRGO.