Linguistics

Coverage from 1890 - present
Find articles, reports, and other materials on social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.

A searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files. Old title: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides coverage of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages. Since 1951, the Ethnologue has been an active research project involving hundreds of linguists and other researchers around the world. It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive source of information of its kind.

Find articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa and RefWorks.

JSTOR provides access to millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. The Archive Journal Collection is included.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research

Search for journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language. Includes book reviews. Updated monthly.

Project MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.

ERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.

Abstracts and full-text of almost 600 journals in psychology and related fields.

Coverage: 1975 - present
Part of Web of Knowledge. Tries to index most frequently cited journals, and entries include number of times the article has been cited. Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information.

Has definitions for most of the words in the English language but also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.

Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. Some UVa books are not included. UVa users will see full records and holdings; others will get brief information.