- Academic Search Complete
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
- AccessUN - 1944 to present
Locate documents in the United Nations Official Documents System on microfiche in Alderman's Government Information Resources department. Includes draft resolutions, meeting records, and the UN Treaty Series ciations. Some of the documents are online.
- American History in Video
Over 5000 films, commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries showing historical events and their presentation over time.
- British Parliamentary Papers
This guide is meant for those beginning research in British Parliamentary Papers. It focuses on Alderman Library's 19th and 20th century holdings and lists indexes and finding aids for Sessional papers, Journals, and Debates.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO's, conference proceedings, current tables of contents and article abstracts from selected journals, and full-text of selected books.
- Congressional Record
Searchable full text access to the Congressional Record and its predecessors (1789-present). Also includes American State Papers (1789-1838) and Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789).
- CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Congressional Quarterly publications on the U.S. government (click on i button for titles covered). Emphasis is on recent information, but US document coverage begins in 1972 and legislative histories in 1945.
- CQ Weekly 1983-present
In depth coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.
- Declassified Documents Reference System
Searchable collection of declassified U.S. documents, from the 1940’s to the 1970’s, taken from the CIA, FBI, presidential libraries, etc. Covers the Cold War, the Vietnam era, the civil rights movement, and other events.
- Digital National Security Archive
Searchable declassified documents used in foreign policy decision-making by the U.S. government since the 1940’s. The documents have been gathered through the Freedom of Information Act.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full Text -1861-present
Full text (PDF) of most dissertations from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on at US and some other universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
- FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service
Information gathered by the U.S. government from thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television and radio broadcasts, and articles from newspapers, periodicals, and books. In paper and microformat. Succeeded by the online "World News Connection" (above).
- Fuente Academica
Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. Covers most subjects, but special emphasis on economics, history, law, philosophy, public administration, religion, and sociology.
- Government Information Resources Department
Government Information Resources, on Alderman's 3rd floor, collects publications by the U.S. government, the Commonwealth of Virginia, and many international organizations such as the United Nations, the European Union, the IMF, etc.
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.
- Hotline 1985-present
Expert daily analysis of the American political scene.
- JSTOR Journal Storage Project 1985-present
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
- Legislative Insight
Follow the history of a bill as it moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. This legislative history includes a compilation of all full text primary sources associated with the bill’s progress, such as the Public Law, all versions of enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, committee prints, CRS reports, and committee hearings, reports, and documents. Presidential signing statements are also included.
- LexisNexis Academic
News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
Over 240,000 Supreme Court documents from the final years of John Marshall through the early years of Warren Burger.
- PAIS International 1915-present
International database covering public and social policy. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, and reports from organizations and abstracts from 1985. Newer book entries include tables of contents.
Political journalism that focuses on background news about Congress, political campaigns, and lobbying.
- ProQuest Congressional
Full-text information by and about the U.S. Congress including publications, legislative histories of laws, biographical information on members, and testimony from congressional hearings.
- Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 (ProQuest History Vault)
Primary source documents (many previously classified) from the CIA, the State Department, the National Security Council, and various presidential files, from the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon administrations. Also includes material about US policy in other regions of the world, such as the Suez Crisis, the Bay of Pigs, the Berlin Wall, the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Arab-Israeli Six Day War, etc.
- Web of Knowledege / Web of Science 1981-present
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.
- World News Connection 1995-present
Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including speeches, radio and television broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. Preceded by Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) and Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Translations.