Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Politics

Library resources for the Woodrow Wilson Department of Politics

Background Resources by Topic

  • Business Source Complete  Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

  • Euromonitor Passport  This online market research tool monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across key countries.

  • CIA World Factbook Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

  • UN Data  Use COUNTRY DATA SERVICES to find summary statistics, economic indicators, social indicators, environment, and trade profile information by country.

  • World Bank Data Catalog  The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data, according to the Open Data Terms of Use. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.
  • UNESCO Institute for Statistics  Internationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
  • UN Data  The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States  The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
  • DATA.gov  The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, design data visualizations, and more.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present. 
  • Social Explorer  Interactive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1940 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980.

Resources for Background Information

  • CQ Researcher  In depth reports on selected issues in the news with lists of recommended books and articles.
  • Congressional Record The Congressional Record is the official record of proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session.  Publication began in 1873.  The GPO and the Library of Congress have digitized the entire CR.
  • CQ Political Reference Suite  Congressional Quarterly publications on the U.S. government and politics and on world affairs. Emphasis is on recent information, but US document coverage begins in 1972 and legislative histories in 1945.
  • CQ Weekly 1983-present  In depth coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. 
  • Annual Reviews  Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
  • Almanac of American Politics - National Journal  Find demographic information for each individual congressional district; profiles of every governor, Senator, and House member; analysis of voter turnout by state and congressional district; and more.
  • ACLS Humanities E-Book Large collection of e-books. Topics include history, area studies, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.