Spanish Literature & Cultural Studies Library Portal: Welcome

My name is Miguel Angel Valladares Llata or simply ([MEE] + [GEL])

I am available whenever you have difficulties locating, using, or discovering all kinds of resources that are useful for your process of acquiring the Spanish language.
 
I am available to all students researching any Latin American or Iberian topics. If you need to do a large or brief research, meeting with a subject librarian early in your research process is key to save you time and and improve the content of your work or class presentations.
 
I am also very interested in hearing about your opinion on how to improve our library; let me know If you discover new material that may be useful for your research or have an opinion on how to improve our services and resources when you are working in Spanish language..

 
The most immediate way to contact me is through email. mav4n@virginia.edu. I can meet you either by zoom or in person.

• If you need resources NOT in UVA -->  Interlibrary Loan Services
• If you need  access to Class Reserve list ---> Course Reserve Services
• If you need to use resources while away from UVA ---> Off-Grounds Access
• If you want the library to order new material ---> Purchase Request Form

Using Library Facilities.

• All UVA libraries are open with access to their Library stacks, rooms, and other public spaces. However, remember that the Main Library (before called Shannon) remains closed for construction. The current central library for Social Sciences and Humanities is Clemons Library. Check: Library Hours and locations
• Group study rooms?: reserve a room

Important:

• Refreshing our memory about Ivy Stacks library (A library that holds a large library collection from the Main Library during its construction). Ivy Stacks is a high-density shelving and retrieval facility located one mile west of Central Grounds. Materials are available for checkout through Virgo.

You can find here a selection of introductory books that will help you to undertand a given topic.
 

Obtain basic information here

How do I... ?
Consult tutorials, tips, and tricks about all the Library has to offer. Learn to use Virgo, discover databases & subject guides, explore Information Literacy training, download lesson plan templates, and much more.

 

Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.

_______________________________________________________ Most Recommended Databases to find articles:

To expand your research, consult: Latin American & Iberian Studies Guide

Or, the entire list of databases UVA provides access:  A-Z databases list:

___________________________________________________________ Most Recommended Databases to find Books:

To find other specific book catalogs, consult this: LibGuide

Most Recommended Web Based Dictionary:

Diccionarios.com (Vox / Larrouse)
A Multi languages & Multi uses dictionary created by Larouse/Vox company with more that 50 different dictionaries in a single interface. Among them: Medical Spanish Dictionary (Spanish-English-Spanish plus diccionario médico de consulta), Diccionario de la lengua española (Spanish-Spanish) or Diccionario enciclopédico.

Important. When accessing this dictionary if you can not see in the upper right corner: Bienvenido University of Virginia, it means that you are not using our subscription. In that case, you can access this resource following the steps for Off-grounds access.

Web version: Spanish/ Spanish :

Diccionario de la lengua española - Real Academia Española de la Lengua (RAE) 23ª ed. (2015)

The application for online access from mobile devices can be downloaded from here;:
Google Play: https://goo.gl/LXTLnu
Apple Store: https://goo.gl/MtBXi3
It is also possible to download the entire resource for consultation without an internet connection::
Google Play: goo.gl/YUJGgO
Apple Store: goo.gl/aHk0MM

If you need more language resources in print or in electronic format (Usage,Synonyms, Grammar, Stylistics, Spanish language in America, etc), please click on this libguide link.

To search a large number of news outlets in Spanish language:

• Factiva Provide access to more than 32,000 sources (such as newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts, etc.) from nearly every country worldwide in 28 languages, including more than 600 continuously updated newswires
  Help with searching in Factiva: Click on --->
  Search ---> Search Builder ---> Change the language default and write your topic.
  Video Tutorial: Searching for Spanish-language News in Factiva

If you need more news resources, please click this tab

About Latin America and Spain: 

• Statistical Agencies by Country
• Country Reports

An open source database:

• BITRA: Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation This free database indexes scholarship in the fields of Translation and Interpretting. It contains over 35,000 entires. Created and maintained by the faculty at the Universitat d'Alacant in Spain.

For more resources, please click in this tab

By consulting related Subject LibGuides:
Latin American & Iberian Studies.
Spanish Language & Literature.
or try to find other Subject LibGuides, created by librarians to give access the best resources in a specific area.