LibGuides: Teaching & Learning: For Library Staff and Faculty

Teaching and Learning Services for Liaisons

Teaching & Learning supports the teaching mission of the entire library and works with anyone interested in further developing their teaching skills. T&L can:

Help you develop instructional materials, such as activities, lesson plans, tutorials, and assessments
Co-teach classes with you
Consult with you about questions related to teaching, including instructional technology
Observe and provide feedback on your teaching
Facilitate discussions and workshops about teaching

Please contact a T&L team member for more information.

Teaching Resources for Librarians

Activities Developed by T&L

These activities can be modified to work in different environments (in-person, synchronous, or asynchronous) and for students of any level. See the "For Instructors" and course-specific tabs for examples of lesson plans that have used many of these activities.

Lesson Plan Template
Editable PDF lesson plan document
Thinking Tool Lesson Plan
Lesson plan for using any version of the Thinking Tool in your class

Thinking Tool (PDF)
The Thinking Tool provides a template for focusing a research assignment through the brainstorming of ideas, keywords, and other terminology related to a topic.

Thinking Tool with link

Online Thinking Tool - Scaffolded Version
A version of the Thinking Tool designed to be completed entirely online. Will generate a downloadable PDF.
Online Thinking Tool - Combined Version
A slightly different version of the Thinking Tool designed to be completed entirely online. Will generate a downloadable PDF.

Four Databases Activity
This group activity introduces students to different library databases or resources.

Online Database Exploration Activity
Similar to the Four Databases Activity, this online activity introduces students to different library databases or resources. This activity was created in LibWizard, so you can duplicate it and customize it for your needs.

Source Evaluation Lesson Plan
Full lesson plan to accompany Source Evaluation LibGuide.

Source Evaluation LibGuide
This guide provides source evaluation exercises and instruction for use.
Source Deck
The Source Deck is an analog resource for creating hands-on learning activities and sparking class discussions.

Library Website Exploration
In this group activity, students explore the library website and Virgo.

Selected Teaching Resources

Online Learning Resources for Liaisons
This toolkit has been designed to provide you an overview of the basics of humanized instruction with an emphasis on technologies and approaches that infuse 'high touch' learning into the online classroom.
Resources for Teaching Online
T&L-developed list of best practices and resources for online teaching
Instruction in Libraries and Information Centers: An Introduction
Open access library instruction textbook. Though it is designed for students in library instruction courses, the text is also a resource for new and experienced professionals seeking best practices and selected resources to support their instructional practice.

5 Things to Read About Inclusive Pedagogy
From the ACRL Instruction Section, 2020.
Inclusive Teaching Best Practices
One-page document with practical suggestions for making your teaching more inclusive.

Collections of Teaching Activities and Resources

PRIMO: Peer-Reviewed Instruction Materials Online
PRIMO, a committee of the ACRL Instruction Section, promotes and shares peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing, evaluating, and ethically using information in networked environments.
CORA: Community of Online Research Assignments
A collaborative space for adapting and experimenting with research assignments and sharing the success or lessons learned
ACRL Sandbox
A place to discover ways to use the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education in instructional settings.

Teaching & Learning

RMC

Teaching and Learning Services for Liaisons

Teaching Resources for Librarians

Activities Developed by T&L

Selected Teaching Resources

Collections of Teaching Activities and Resources

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites