Batten School of Leadership & Public Policy Research Guide
Librarian
Data Discovery, Statistics, and GIS Consulting
UVA Library has a number of staff who look forward to helping you with your data needs. We offer services in:
- Finding data. The Data Librarian can work with you to identify existing data sources and provide support for querying and downloading datasets from various software tools and online databases. We also manage the library’s collection of datasets and license data for academic research and teaching purposes. (PSST...the Batten Librarian is also the Data Librarian!)
- Data analysis. The StatLab offers consultations, collaborations, and training in wrangling, analyzing, visualizing, and computing with data and work with faculty, students, and staff across disciplines. They have expertise in a range of common data tools and technologies, including R, Python, Stata, SPSS.
- Research software. The Research Software Support team can help you with obtaining, installing, and using site-licensed research software titles.
- Research data management. The Research Data Management team is ready to consult on how to locate, collect, document, organize, store, and preserve your research data throughout your research project. We can help you to understand and meet funder requirements, including assistance in drafting and reviewing data management plans, selecting appropriate active data storage, choosing a repository, and preparing research data for end-of-project archiving.
- Geospatial Services. Our expert staff supports application of GIS and mapping technologies across the disciplines. We also provide consultation on data and software for research and classroom use.
Learn to use data
Of course, you are always welcome to visit our experts in the Library's StatLab for help with your data analysis. Another great place to learn about research methods is SAGE Research Methods Online. The classic "little green books" have set the standard for how to independently learn about quantitative research methods. They also offer research methods books for qualitative methods. Their encyclopedias are also great for looking up quick definitions of research methods and statistics.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Looking for a simple, basic book on learning statistics? PDQ Statistics comes recommended from our StatsLab.
PDQ Statistics by ISBN: 1550092073Publication Date: 2003PDQ Statistics, Third Edition offers an expert overview of all major statistical methods, giving the reader a thorough understanding of statistics and how they are used in research articles. The book covers the major categories - variable and descriptive statistics, parametric statistics, non-parametric statistics, and multivariate statistics. The explanations are clear, succinct, and loaded with practical examples. This third edition includes new chapters on hierarchical and logistic regression, path analysis, and structural equation modeling. PDQ Statistics, Third Edition also helps the reader identify those statistical analyses with basic flaws in design or research. The book's attractive design and humorous writing style make the subject matter accessible and engaging.
Looking for an in-depth workshop? Try one of our workshops offered by the StatLab. Come to the workshops to learn R, Stata, Python, and more.
Can't make it to an in-person workshop to learn about R? Try LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) to learn more about the R programming language. LinkedIn Learning offers a wide variety of online software training, and isn't limited to statistics and data science.
Or use LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) to learn Stata:
Featured Data
Popular Data and Statistics:
These are great sources for easy-to-use data, statistics, and mapping.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US. Use it for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowInteractive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1790 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980. Also has crime and health data.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data repository contains over 18.9 billion datapoints from over 400 databases sourced from 70 public and private organizations. The datasets contained in Sage Data are structured and homogenized to permit correlation of multiple, diverse indicators. The Sage Data repository continues to grow regularly with the addition of new datasets drawn from public and private sources.
Polling data:
- Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new windowGallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll. Learn more at the Gallup Public Opinion Poll Research Guide.
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new windowiPOLL contains nearly a half-million questions from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, including CNN, Gallup, AP, the Wall Street Journal, and many others. From the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
More data sources!
- Correlates of State Policy"The Correlates of State Policy Project aims to compile, disseminate, and encourage the use of data relevant to U.S. state policy research, tracking policy differences across and change over time in the 50 states. They have gathered more than seven-hundred variables from various sources and assembled them into one large, useful dataset. These variables represent policy outputs or political, social, or economic factors that may influence policy differences across the states."
- Data Sources Research GuidePeruse the list of data sources UVA Library provides. Covers a wide variety of topics, including demographic, the economy, trade, and political data, with both US and International coverage. Titles include US Census, Dave Leip Election Data, ICPSR, China Data Online, and many more.