Batten School of Leadership & Public Policy Research Guide
Library resources for the Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy
Librarian
Explore Policy Journals
Academic Articles and Books
Academic article databases are often broken up by discipline. It helps if you know in advance what academic literature you want to search: political science, economics, psychology, education, sociology, health, science, et al. Here are links to the essential databases that will help you find articles in those fields, as well as links to research guides that provide more detail in those areas. Check out Virgo, UVA Library's catalog, for books.
- Books and Dissertations
- Political Science
- Economics and Business
- Education
- Psychology
- Sociology and Development
- Health
- Science and Technology
Additionally, the following databases are good for any science or social science article search.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Book Citation Index- Science (2005-), Book Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (2005-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-), Index Chemicus (1993-), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
- Campbell Collaboration Online LibraryCampbell Collaboration provides systematic reviews about social issues focused on evidence-based policy outcomes. Major topics are crime and justice, education, social welfare, international development, nutrition, and disability.
Find Books and Dissertations
- Virgo - UVA Library's CatalogYou can look for books and more with Virgo, UVA Library's Catalog.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
See also Finding Dissertations
Political Science
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowPolitical Science Complete provides nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association. The database also provides a subject-specific thesaurus with more than 23,500 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.Subject coverage includes comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
Economics and Business
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews.
- NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new windowNational Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in this searchable database. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Education
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge database covering journal articles, conference papers and some books on all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBeginning in the 1800s, covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
- See Also: Education Research GuideAdditional education resources can be found here.
Psychology
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBeginning in the 1800s, covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
Sociology and Development
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
- Eldis This link opens in a new windowThe Eldis website is now a static archive and no new content will be added. Access may change without warning.
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. It includes over 30,000 summaries and links to free full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers.
Health
- Medline (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAll aspects of biomedicine and allied health fields plus other biological, physical and social sciences as they relate to health and medicine. The 3 versions have the same contents, but different interfaces and update schedules.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new windowMedical dictionaries and encyclopedias, image and video collections and works on specific health and wellness topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition, generic and brand-name drugs, children's, men's & women's health.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing, Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowArticles from English-language journals plus healthcare books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, professional standards, software and audiovisual materials.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations from MedLine and other biomedical articles from the 1950s on. UVa also has direct access to the Medline database through 3 other vendors.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowCollection of e-books on medical science and clinical medicine plus drug information, patient education information, clinical practice guidelines and study guides. RSS feeds and podcasts provide updates. Please logout after use.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialties in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customized patient education handouts, clinical calculators and more.
- See Also: Health Science LibraryVisit the Claude Moore Health Science library website for quality health resources and library services.
Science and Technology
- Proquest: Biological & Environmental Sciences1960s-present
Searches 8 biological and environmentally focused databases, including AGRICOLA, Aqualine, ASFA Abstracts, Biological Sciences, GeoRef, Environmental Impact Statements, and Oceanic Abstracts. - ECOLEX: A Gateway to Environmental LawInformation service on environmental law, which combines the environmental law information holdings of FAO, IUCN and UNEP. The ECOLEX database includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature. Users have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each document, as well as to the full text of most of the information provided.
- ProQuest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
- Aerospace Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1962 - present
Find journal articles and technical reports in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. Covers basis and applied research and technological developments in supporting research fields. - Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new windowUse this link to search AIAA publications; not all found items may be available online. Ask a librarian for assistance in locating and obtaining needed documents.