Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 Pandemic Children's Book Collection

Headshot of Ashley Hosbach smiling. Photograph.

Ashley Hosbach

Contact: aeh5mg@virginia.edu

Ashley is the Project Lead and University of Virginia’s Education & Social Science Research Librarian. Ashley specializes in children’s literature and is currently researching the COVID-19 pandemic and social emotional learning represented in picture books.

 

Headshot of Mary Lihong Peng smiling with a floral background behind her. Photograph.

Mary Lihong Peng

Mary served as the project's Social Emotional Learning Cataloger and Digital Support. She graduated from UVA in May 2021. She is currently an MPH Candidate at the Yale School of Public Health, with a focus on Digital Health, Psychosocial Epidemiology & Public Health Modeling.


Scope and Context

Thanks to generous funding from the Jefferson Trust, University of Virginia Library is proud to establish the first Pandemic Education Collection in the country as a model for educators and libraries globally. This collection sits at the intersection of public health literacy, community advocacy, and education. Led and designed by Ashley Hosbach, Education and Social Science Research Librarian, this collection meets the need from P-12 educators, counselors, caregivers, and librarians for public health education on COVID-19 safety and prevention. It currently contains 300+ titles and continues to grow as more books are published in this area. As the COVID-19 pandemic approaches its third year, its impact on P-12 education persists. Hosbach and her team are mapping the collection to the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning's (CASEL) evidence based SEL strategies and the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) Health Standards of Learning for easier classroom integration for educators across the commonwealth of Virginia.

This collection is held at the Brown Science and Engineering Library in Clark Hall, on the first floor, across from the main Children’s and Young Adult Literature Collection. You can browse the full collection in our catalog, Virgo. You can also browse the collection by topic using the tabs on this site. This online guide supports access to the collection and serves as a model for those outside of UVA for discovery, research, and teaching.