Jewish Studies Research Guide

Women and Gender in Jewish Studies

Here you will find sources on Women and Gender in Jewish Studies. Click through the tabs to find sources. If you have any questions or want us to add sources, please contact us.

Databases

ACRL Women and Gender Studies Section
From the Association of College and Research Libraries. Links to hundreds of resources. Education, health, history, business, politics, science, culture, art, music, film, international resources and more are covered.
LGBTQ+ Source
Previously known as LGBT Life with Full Text. LGBT Life with Full Text is the definitive database for LGBT studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Project Muse: Women's Studies, Gender & Sexuality
Full-text Books and Journals. Once you perform a search, you can limit the results to "Women's Studies, Gender & Sexuality" under the Research Area box on the left.
Women's Studies International
Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.

Encyclopedias

Jewish Women's Archive
An encyclopedia of Jewish women, among other offerings.

Journals

Bridges -- A Jewish Feminist Journal
Bridges is a showcase for the creative work of Jewish feminists. The journal features articles, commentary, discussions of politics and culture, scholarly essays, fiction and poetry, visual art, graphics, photography, and archival materials, including oral histories, interviews, diaries, and letters.
Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies & Gender Issues
An international, interdisciplinary academic forum covering the field of Jewish women's and gender studies with articles on literature, text studies, anthropology, theology, contemporary thought, sociology, the arts, and more.
Women in Judaism: A Multidisciplinary e-Journal
An academic, refereed journal published exclusively on the Internet, and devoted to scholarly debate on gender-related issues in Judaism. The ultimate aim of the journal is to promote the reconceptualization of the study of Judaism, by acknowledging and incorporating the roles played by women, and by encouraging the development of alternative research paradigms.

Virgo is the UVA Library catalog, giving you access to thousands of books, ebooks, articles, videos, and more.

IMPORTANT!
You can search Virgo by Author, Title, Keyword, Subject, etc. A very powerful search you can use is searching Virgo by Subject. When every book is catalogued, it is assigned a specific subject that describes the book in question. If you discover your subject, you can find very useful material relevant for research. Examples:
If you need more help with VIRGO consult the following introductory guide: Getting Started with Virgo