Skip to Main Content

Jewish Studies Research Guide

Library Services During Academic Year 2024-25

Using Library Facilities.

Important:

  • Refreshing our memory about Ivy Stacks library.
    Ivy Stacks is a high-density shelving and retrieval facility located one mile west of Central Grounds. Materials are available for checkout through Virgo.

Important Service at Shannon Library  for Graduate Students (posted Fall 2024)

Shelves are available for reservation at the Shannon Library Graduate Student Lounge!

 

Students who are interested should email Mary Ann Lugo, lugo@virginia.edu

  • Current UVA graduate students in good standing are eligible to reserve one set of shelves for one academic year. The reservation can be renewed.
  • Shelves are assigned on a first-come, first-served basis. Please be patient if you are not assigned shelves right away. You will be placed on a wait list.
  • Only checked-out books and materials are allowed on the shelves. All library items on your shelves need to have a GSL Shelf slip in them, otherwise they will be removed.
  • Personal items can be temporarily placed in the lounge if you are stepping away while you are actively using the space. The fridge and lockers in the kitchen area are there for this purpose. Personal belongings cannot be left overnight and will be removed if left behind.
  • Grads who have study carrels or shelves at Fine Arts or Music cannot also reserve shelves at Shannon due to space limitations.

Using Library Services:

Student Support for Remote Instruction.

 

Library Research Tips

Three key resources to help you do research at UVA:

  • Virgo is the UVA Library catalog, giving you access to thousands of books, ebooks, articles, videos, and more. If you need help with VIRGO consult the following introductory guide: Getting Started with Virgo
  • The The Search, borrow, request page (Research page) on the Library website is the gateway to all of the databases the UVA Library has access to.
  • Subject guides are created by Library subject experts to give you easy access to the best resources in a particular subject area.

Citation Management Tools

Reference managers software allows a user to organize and retrieve information, such as citations for books, articles, and Web sites, by interfacing with library databases.

The reference manager then works with word processing software to insert properly formatted footnotes or citations into a paper and create a properly formatted bibliography.

The University of Virginia recommend to use Zotero since this is the most recognized open source that help you to collect, organize, cite, and share your research. .

Zotero

For more information about Zotero at UVA, consult the following information:

What is Zotero? Zotero is a free and open-source reference management software to manage bibliographic data and related research materials.

Citing Sources

1) Documenting Sources

In the process of writing a research paper, you must document the cited sources with footnotes or/and end notes and a bibliography which appears at the end of your paper. In this bibliography you need to lists every work you have cited in your notes; in addition, it may include works that you consulted but did not cite.

La terminologie en langue française est: "notes" (de pied de page); ¨"bibliographie consultée" or "bibliographie citée" or "bibliographie d'intérêt général".

La terminología en castellano es: "Notas" (a pie de página); bilbiografia consultada o bilbiografia citada  o bibliografia.

La terminologia in italiano è: "Note" (a piè di pagina); bibliografia consultata o bibliografia citata o Citazione in bibliografia

La  terminologia em português é: "Notas" (notas de rodapé); bibliografia consultada ou bibliografia citada

Die deutsche Terminologie lautet: "Notizen" (unten auf der Seite); herangezogene Bibliographie oder zitierte Bibliographie

To cite your sources properly, first you need to select the appropriated manual of style. Visit the library if you need to consult a print copy of one of these style guides:

a) For Humanities: Modern Language Association (MLA)

Electronic version

  • MLA Handbook Plus 
  • The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more.

Print edition

  • Modern Language Association (MLA) Style Guide. (Humanities)
  • MLA handbook for writers of research papers. (Online Catalog Records)

MLA Handbook 9th edition

ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021
Call Number: Clemons Ready Reference and Brown Library Reference LB2369 .M52 2021

Other electronic examples about using MLA Style

3) Social Sciences: Chicago Style Guide.

The Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition, e-resource)  Call Number: E-book ISBN: 022628705X Publication Date: 2017     4) Sciences: American Psychological Association (APA)

Only in Print

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th ed) ISBN: 143383216X. Publication Date: 2019

Free Online Citation Generators

These are free, online tools.  You should check the results you get.  Keep in mind... most automatic generators will give you the footnote style *or* the bibliography style.  You'll need to edit as necessary for the other.

BibMe

  • 4 Citation Styles
    Whether you are using MLA, APA, Turabian or Chicago, BibMe can help you reference your work effectively.
  • Variety Of Sources
    Journals, websites, books and many other sources covering both digital and print format.
  • Plagiarism Checker
    Check your content for plagiarism against a great deal of sources on the Internet to avoid using somebody else’s words.

Features And Plans: Free Version Available (Most of the features are available in the free version.)

Citation Machine

  • Vast Citation Style Variety
    Citation Machine can help eLearning content developers reference in all 4 major styles, namely APA, MLA, Chicago and Turabian. However, it provides an immense library of 7.000 additional citation styles for many different fields.
  • Resources And Guides
    The platform offers a guide on how to properly cite in APA, MLA and Chicago.
  • Plagiarism Checker
    Much like BibMe, this platform also offers this feature that only comes if you subscribe though.
  • Numerous Sources
    Citation Machine allows you to cite content from books, magazines, newspapers, journals, films and many other sources.

Features And Plans: Free Version Available

Thanks to Rebecca Coleman (librarian for Architecture at UVA) for this information

Quality of Research