Biomedical Engineering

Newspapers

The Library maintains subscriptions and access to a wide variety of domestic and foreign newspapers and news sources. For information about available newspapers please see the guide page below.

Newspaper Guide

Historical articles and information

Academic Search Complete
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
Download options
Chapter/content section downloads
Download format
PDF
Mobile app
The EBSCO Mobile app for iOS and Android lets users search Academic Search Complete and view or listen to chapters/content sections.

Use one or more of these databases to search for historical information on a topic or technology. Keep in mind that more specialized and technical databases may also contain articles and other information about the history of a topic or invention.

See also the Library's Complete Database Listing for many additional resources.

Accessible Archives
Fully-searchable texts and page images from The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), seven African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1860, and three newspapers of the Civil War period.
America: History & Life (1964-present)
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide.
20th Century American Newspapers, Series I
Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. For additional titles see Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers and Historical Newspapers.
American Memory Project
Primary source documents and archives for American history and culture from the Library of Congress. Includes printed text, collections of photographs, and some scanned manuscripts on many topics.
American Periodicals Series (1740-1940)
Full text of over 1000 magazines and journals published in the US between 1740 and 1940.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Locate articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history in journals from many countries.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Survey of the history of Western thought and culture. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of an important idea.
Factiva
Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.
Historical Abstracts
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.

Historical Newspapers
Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-2001), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1997), the Chicago Tribune (1890-1984) and the Washington Post (1877-19887).

IMB: International Medieval Bibliography
Lists articles from books and journals on any topic relating to the European Middle Ages (ca. 400-1500).

Iter Bibliography
Look for books, journal articles, and essays in books on all topics for the Middle Ages and Renaissance (ca. 400-1700).

NexisUni
News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Oxford Reference Online
A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
Download options
Downloading not available

Last Updated: May 30, 2025 11:01 AM
URL: https://guides.lib.virginia.edu/bme
Print Page

Subjects: Biomedical Engineering, Engineering

Tags: bioengineering, biomedical_engineering, biotechnology, library

Biomedical Engineering

Newspapers

Historical articles and information

Download options

Download format

Mobile app

Download options