LibGuides: Newspapers & Other News Media: Newspapers online

Contemporary International Newspaper Databases

BBC Monitoring International Reports, 1980-current (UVA only)
Provided by Lexis/Nexis Academic. News and information based on round-the-clock monitoring of radio, TV, press, internet and news agency sources around the world is provided by BBC Monitoring. Reports are translated into English from more than 100 languages
Factiva
Full-text, thousands of sources from all over the world, in 22 languages. Coverage varies by title. NOTE: click on News Pages to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries. Coverage goes back several decades; varies by title.

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of U.S. and some foreign newspapers. Coverage varies by title, some back to 1980s.

Access World News
Includes English language newspapers from around the World. Trial through Spring 2016

Historical International Newspaper Databases

Gale Newsvault This link opens in a new window
Search together 5 historical collections of British and American newspapers: Burney Collection (17th and 18th C.), 19th century British and US newspapers, the Times (London), and the Economist.

The Times of London, Digital Archive - 1785-1985
Search the full text of The Times (London) including articles, advertisements, and picture captions. See an image of either just the article or the full page.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. From the collection at the British Library. For more information from the British Library see their guide to the Collection.
World Newspapers Archive - Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to nearly 300 newspapers from across Latin America from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Times of India Archive This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1838 - 2010
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
19th Century British Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers.
World Newspaper Archive - African Newspapers 1 This link opens in a new window
This collection contains more than 420,000 pages of content from newspapers published throughout sub-Saharan Africa. The database features 67 titles from Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and other countries.
World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
WNA-South Asia contains more than 500,000 pages of content from 10 newspapers published throughout the subcontinent.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
Full-text translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-US news sources. Earlier newspaper translations can be found in the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) series.

Digital Resources for International Newspaper Archives, By Country

Digital Historical Newspaper Archives from all over the World
Mostly free access. Links to scores of archives by country, in Europe, Asia, Africa, Latin America, North America, the Caribbean, and Australia. From Providence College.
ICON's Newspaper Archive Links
Free and pay sites included. See links to digitized newspaper archives from around the world, by country. From ICON, (International Coalition on Newspapers) based at the Center for Research Libraries
Latin-American News & Newspapers
Over 100 contemporary Latin-American news resources, mostly in Spanish, many with archives that don't go back very far. Scroll down page for links to Spanish language papers in the U.S. From LANIC, the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas at Austin.

Newspapers & Other News Media

Contemporary International Newspaper Databases

Historical International Newspaper Databases

Digital Resources for International Newspaper Archives, By Country

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites