Music

African American Music Reference contains 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

This growing digital hub provides access to exclusive reference content, cutting edge scholarship, and a variety of learning resources across a range of subject areas in music and sound studies. The hub currently offers two collections: Bloomsbury Popular Music and Sound Studies.

Classical Music Reference Library brings together more than 40,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.

56 music journals are available in full-text through JSTOR. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

The Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals.

Indexes scholarly and popular music publications with abstracts and some full text.

Lists articles from scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, television, theater, opera, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more. Some full text.

Includes 14 music journals (mostly current) with a broad range of topics including women in music, Latin-American music, and computer music.

Recent Researches offers critical performing editions of music in seven series. It includes complete content of scores and partbooks. Users can read online, print, or save.
UVa has access to all titles published in 2018 and later in the seven Recent Researches in Music series: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American (including MUSA), and Oral Traditions.

Broad international coverage indexing journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, Festschriften, and more covering all areas of music.

Extensive coverage of music periodical literature from 1800 to 1950. Searchable together with RILM to provide you access to over two hundred years of music periodical literature.

Contains over 2,000 articles from experts in the field, supported by over 130 images. The content is fully cross-referenced, allowing for greater discoverability between fields, and covers eight key subject areas: Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents. Researchers can browse by subject, movement, or place in order to discover connections between key topics and fields.

Comprehensive music encyclopedia, with coverage of music history, theory and practice, musical terminology, and biographies. Includes works lists, musical examples, and link to online recordings.

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.