French Studies

The corpus of Mazarinades consists of about 6,000 editions, some of which exist as variant copies due to differing typesetting practices that occurred during the printing process. Each bibliographical entry includes a standardised description, a unique identifier allowing for unambiguous citation, and a permalink.
The Bibliography of Mazarinades is a project in progress. At the moment of its launch (May 2019) it holds about 1,000 entries, which represents almost 20% of the anticipated total number of entries.

Mapping the Trade of the Société Typographique de Neuchâtel, 1769-1794
This project uses database technology to map the French book trade across late-Enlightenment Europe, between 1769 and 1794. It charts best-selling texts and authors; reading tastes across Europe; changing patterns of demand over time; and networks of exchange in the print-trade.

The Newberry Library's French Pamphlet Collection primarily consists of material published between 1780 and 1810 from the French Revolution Collection (FRC), the Louis XVI Trial and Execution Collection, and several smaller collections of French Revolution era material. It charts the political, social, and religious history of the French Revolution. The material represents the opinions of all the factions that opposed and defended the monarchy during the turbulent period from 1789 to 1799 and chronicles the events—both dramatic and quotidian—of the First Republic. The FRC collection was acquired by the Newberry between 1957 and 1961 from Michel Bernstein, a book dealer in Paris. There are complete runs of well-known journals ( portion provided here), as well as many rare and unknown publications. While the majority of the pamphlets were printed in Paris by the Imprimerie nationale, there are also significant numbers of provincial publishers and fictitious imprints.

This collection also includes about 3,000 French political pamphlets published between 1560 to 1653 that document a period of religious wars and the establishment of the absolute monarchy. The bulk of the collection was purchased in the late 1940s from New York book dealer H.P. Kraus.

More information

The French Revolutionary Pamphlets include 2,800 pamphlets representing governmental correspondence, decrees, and other documents. The collection, including both the documents of the revolutionary government and handbills circulated among its citizens, makes evident the power of the people to influence government and of the press to manipulate the people. The collection's popular drama illustrates attitudes toward everyday life, politics, and government. French Revolutionary Drama and French Revolutionary Pamphlets Collection was originally prototyped for grant project development. Active growth is intermittent.

As the number of digital archives on the internet continues to grow, finding and selecting digital repositories becomes increasingly difficult. EHPS strives to fill that gap by listing the most important collections of digital primary sources for the history of Europe, either as a whole or for single countries. EHPS is updated continuously and we invite all users to send us their suggestions for websites to include.

la Bibliothèque francophone numérique est constituée de fonds des collections de onze membres du Réseau sélectionnées pour leur intérêt patrimonial
Bibliothèque royale de Belgique,
Bibliothèque et Archives du Canada,
Bibliothèque nationale de France,
Bibliothèque nationale de Côte d'Ivoire
Bibliothèque Haïtienne du Saint-Esprit,
Bibliothèque nationale du Luxembourg,
Bibliothèque et Archives Universitaires d'Antananarivo,
Bibliothèque nationale du Royaume du Maroc,
Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec,
Institut Fondamental d'Afrique Noire de l’Université Cheikh Anta Diop du Sénégal,
Bibliothèque nationale suisse.

La navigation au sein de ce réservoir s'opère selon 3 modes :
1. un formulaire de recherche interne (requête simple sur tout ou partie du site, recherche avancée dotée de fonctionnalités de filtrage),
2. une exploration par thèmes (échanges, droits de l'homme, histoire partagée, langue française) et
3. une découverte des collections par zone géographique (Afrique de l'ouest, Afrique centrale et Océan indien, Afrique du nord et Moyen-Orient, Amérique - Caraïbes, Asie - Pacifique, Europe).

L'utilisateur peut affiner les résultats d'une recherche, notamment par type de document et auteur. Ainsi il sera donc possible de restreindre l'affichage aux seules images comme l'exemple inséré ci-dessous. Chaque document fait l'objet d'une notice descriptive détaillée qui mentionne en particulier les droits d'exploitation liés à l'œuvre en question.

The Bibliothèque nationale de France’s trilingual website allows users to search manuscripts in English, French and Italian. You can also view and compare manuscripts side-by-side using International Image Interoperability Framework (IIIF) technology. The British Library website presents a curated selection of these manuscripts highlighting various topics and manuscripts. Readers may explore themes, such as history, illumination, science and manuscript making.

Thématiques
Archéologie
Architecture
Art africain
Art contemporain
Art océanien
Arts du spectacle
Cartes
cartes postales
Célébrations nationales
Danse
Dations en paiement
Design
Dessin
Enluminures
Ethnologie
Événements
Gastronomie
Gravure
Langues
Marionnettes
Médecine
Sculpture
Art amérindien
Monuments historiques
Musique
Objets mobiliers
Patrimoine éducatif
Patrimoine fluvial
Patrimoine hospitalier
Patrimoine industriel
Patrimoine maritime
Patrimoine numérique
Peinture
Photographie
Plans
Préhistoire
Santé
Sceaux
Théâtre
Voyages

Las bases de données documentaires Architecture et Patrimoine
La base Bibliographie - Archidoc contient des notices bibliographiques qui peuvent également se rattacher aux notices de Mérimée et de Palissy.
La base Vocabulaires - Thésaurus fédère l'ensemble de ces bases par un vocabulaire commun (dénomination des oeuvres).
La base Vocabulaires - Auteurs recensent les orfèvres et peintres verriers cités ou non des les bases Mérimée et Palissy.
La base Vocabulaires - Sancti propose une approche iconographique des oeuvres étudiées dans Palissy.

FRDA emerged from the expressed need by scholars of the French Revolution to gain greater and more flexible access to their sources. The French Revolution itself produced scores of documents by participants, spectators, and critics. These materials include texts of all sorts – legal documents, pamphlet literature, belles lettres, musical compositions, and a rich imagery. Dispersed in libraries and archives, hidden in documental series and in short individual pamphlets, this diverse documentary heritage can now be offered to scholars in a digital format. The French Revolution Digital Archive brings together two foundational sources for research: the Archives parlementaires (hereafter AP) and a vast collection of images selected from the collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.

Scholars are able to search each collection separately using an English or French interface, and across both collections - the Images and the Archives parlementaires. By bringing the French Revolution’s textual and visual representations together virtually into a single curated collection with powerful means to search, analyze, and display the information, scholars and students will be able to advance our knowledge and understanding of this crucial period in world history.

It charts the political, social, and religious history of the French Revolution. The material represents the opinions of all the factions that opposed and defended the monarchy during the turbulent period from 1789 to 1799 and chronicles the events—both dramatic and quotidian—of the First Republic.

The FRC collection was acquired by the Newberry between 1957 and 1961 from Michel Bernstein, a book dealer in Paris. There are complete runs of well-known journals ( portion provided here), as well as many rare and unknown publications. While the majority of the pamphlets were printed in Paris by the Imprimerie nationale, there are also significant numbers of provincial publishers and fictitious imprints.
This collection also includes about 3,000 French political pamphlets published between 1560 to 1653 that document a period of religious wars and the establishment of the absolute monarchy. The bulk of the collection was purchased in the late 1940s from New York book dealer H.P. Kraus.
More information

The goal of this project was to digitize a coherent number of the 3000 texts contained in the French Revolution Pamphlet Collection held by Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Library. It is hoped that the digital collection, which will eventually display 89 literary and satirical pamphlets, will highlight what had been a nearly invisible library resource and will facilitate scholarly access to archival texts that have not been widely reproduced.
The technical aspects of the digitization process involve scanning the original documents using high-end digital photography, converting them to text format documents with optical-character-reading software, proofreading, and finally, sgml mark-up in order to provide a web-based interface which allows full document retrieval as well as extensive cross-text search capabilities.

Lynn Hunt of UCLA and Jack Censer of George Mason University—both internationally renowned scholars of the Revolution—served as principal authors and editors. The site itself is a collaboration of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) and the American Social History Project (City University of New York), supported by grants from the Florence Gould Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Compiled by Horace E. Hayden, PH. D., under the direction of Charles F. McCombs.
You can consult this This guide in microfilm

First ed. by British Museum Dept. of Printed Books published in 1899 under title: List of the contents of the three collections of books, pamphlets, and journals in the British Museum relating to the French Revolution