If the library does not own it...
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) can borrow materials from libraries worldwide for UVA faculty, students and staff. Materials you may request include articles, books, dissertations, government documents, technical reports, patents and newspapers on microform. In some cases videos and sound recordings are also available.
- First-time users, please visit our sign in page to set up an account. After setting up your account, you will be able to request and track the process of all your Interlibrary Services requests.
- Logon to your ILS account and choose the appropriate Request Type from the menu on the left side of the page. Fill in as much information as you have available to ensure we borrow the correct item.
- Requests are usually filled in 3-10 working days.
Alternatively, if you believe an item should be purchased for our collection, you can make a purchase request and it will be reviewed by appropriate staff.
Try First
- Virgo: UVa Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new windowVirgo lists books, journals, videos, audio, manuscripts, and Internet resources owned or licensed by the University Library (Main, Brown, Clemons, etc.), Health Sciences Library, Law Library, and Darden School Library.
Search Books (General Sources)
- WorldCat.org This link opens in a new windowOnline listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. Some UVa books are not included. UVa users will see full records and holdings; others will get brief information.
- Google Book Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the books, magazines, and journals Google has scanned from libraries and publishers.Choose "About this book" for abstract, table of contents, and books and articles related to the book.
- Hathi Trust This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository which provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, totaling nearly 11 million titles. All users can view the content online, but only UVa-affiliated researchers can download titles for offline use.
eBook Collections
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
- CRCnetBase This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowHandbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
- LinkedIn Learning- For Students and Faculty This link opens in a new windowLinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning company that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Members have access to the lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.
- Safari Books Online This link opens in a new windowPlatform has changed to O'Reilly for Higher Education. Books on all aspects of computers, programming and the Web from such publishers as O'Reilly, Sams, New Riders, Adobe.
Search Dissertations (General Sources)
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
See also Finding Dissertations - Libra: UVa's Institutional Repository This link opens in a new windowLibra is the University of Virginia’s institutional repository, the online archive of scholarship created by the university community. Libra makes publications available to the world and provides safe and secure storage for the scholarly output of the U.Va. community.
- Open Access Theses and DissertationsAn index of over 2.4 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from over 800 institutions worldwide. To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
- DART-Europe This link opens in a new windowSearch for dissertations from over 300 European universities. Most are available for immediate download.