Materials Science & Engineering

Virgo lists books, journals, videos, audio, manuscripts, and Internet resources owned or licensed by the University Library (Main, Brown, Clemons, etc.), Health Sciences Library, Law Library, and Darden School Library.

Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. Some UVa books are not included. UVa users will see full records and holdings; others will get brief information.

Search the books, magazines, and journals Google has scanned from libraries and publishers.Choose "About this book" for abstract, table of contents, and books and articles related to the book.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository which provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, totaling nearly 11 million titles. All users can view the content online, but only UVa-affiliated researchers can download titles for offline use.

Handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.

LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning company that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Members have access to the lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.

O’Reilly includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments.
From the drop-down menu, choose: Not listed? Click here. Then enter UVa email address to access content.
Instructors: If you are using books on O’Reilly as course textbooks, please be aware that O’Reilly can and does pull titles mid-semester without notice to the Library.

Full text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.

See also Finding Dissertations

Libra is the University of Virginia’s institutional repository, the online archive of scholarship created by the university community. Libra makes publications available to the world and provides safe and secure storage for the scholarly output of the U.Va. community.

Search for dissertations from over 300 European universities. Most are available for immediate download.

Search for dissertations from British universities. Many are available for download after registration. ILL can often get a copy of those available only in print.