Urban & Environmental Planning

Find Newspapers by Title

Journal Finder
Use the Journal Finder when you know the title you're looking for. The results will describe our access (print and/or online) and years available.

Full Online Access to NYT and WSJ

UVA Library provides full publisher access to two national newspapers: the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.

New York Times
Coverage: 1851 - current
Online access to the New York Times includes full entry to the archives from 1851 to present day. Features include Spanish and Chinese editions plus hundreds of articles published in other languages and access to The New York Times Magazine. There is a 5 PDF download limit per day.
Link to Archives
Users must be On-Grounds or have their VPN turned on and then will have to create an account with NYTimes. Access does not include Cooking, Games/Crosswords, or The Athletic.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Wall Street Journal
Access to WSJ.com, the WSJ App, and the WSJ Archives. Students will have access until their graduation date; faculty and staff must renew using this link annually.
You must create an account using your UVA email address.

Top Newspaper Databases

For other US national newspapers, international newspapers, or to search by subject, start with these databases:

Access World News
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. It currently contains over 9,600 sources from 160 countries.
Factiva
For today's paper
Use Factiva to find the daily edition of national and global newspapers, like the New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal. Click on News Pages for today's paper. In addition to the daily edition of papers, Factiva offers full-text, from thousands of sources from all over the world, in 22 languages. Coverage varies by title, some back to 1980s.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Atlanta World Daily, The American Israelite, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, The Guardian & The Observer, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Le Monde, Los Angeles Times, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers
Covers late 19th-late 20th centuries. A subset of the larger ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this is acollection of several prominent black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, Baltimore Afro-American, and NY Amsterdam News.
World News Connection
English translations of foreign news. Full-text of news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. news sources. Earlier newspaper translations can be found in the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) series.

Newspapers in Print

Visit Shannon's 4th floor Reference Room to read newspapers in print. You'll find the following papers just inside the south entrance, in the current periodicals area:

Virginia:

Cavalier Daily (UVA, Virginia)

Daily Progress (Charlottesville, Virginia)

New Journal and Guide (Norfolk, Virginia; Black news)

Virginia Law Weekly (UVA , Virginia)

News Leader (Staunton, Virginia0

Richmond Times-Dispatch (Richmond, Virginia)

Virginian Pilot (Hampton Roads, Virginia)

US national and international:

New York Times (New York, USA)

Al-Ahram (Egypt)

Al-Wafd (Egypt)

Times (London)

Ren Min Ri Bao, or, People's Daily Overseas (China)

Die Zeit (Germany)

Le Monde Diplopmatique (France)

Daily Progress

Charlottesville's daily paper, now thrice-weekly, since 1892.

Daily Progress Online (2006-2008) (2018-present)
Available through UVA's news database subscriptions.
Daily Progress on Microfilm (1893 - present)
Recent print editions held in Shannon Reference Room until microfilm arrives.
Daily Progress Digital Archive (1893 - 1964)
Read a digitized version of the Daily Progress, covering 1893-1964. No keyword searching available.

UVA Student Newspaper

UVA student newspapers are an excellent resource for learning more about student life, university concerns, and changes on campus, as well as regional news and events and town-gown relations. Resources for researching the main student newspaper are below; see other student publications for additional student newspapers.

The Cavalier Daily. The major student newspaper, formerly College Topics (see below). 1948-present.

Available online via the CD website: 1999-present.
- Online content is inconsistent 1999-2010 or so.
Available online via Google News Archive - not searchable, sometimes low quality scans. 1923-1996.
Available in print by request and in the Shannon Library Reference Room: 1948-present.
Available on microfilm: from 1948, volumes are scanned to film every 2 years.

College Topics. Now The Cavalier Daily. The University's second student newspaper. 1890-1948.

Available online via the Library of Virginia: 1890-1916.
Available in print by request and in the Shannon Library Reference Room: 1890-1948.
Available on microfilm, 1890-1948.

Searching in the Cavalier Daily and College topics:

A handwritten index to CT and The CD (through 1994) is located in the Shannon Library Reference Room. Ask at the Shannon Reference Desk for an introduction. On 35k slips of paper housed in a card catalog, you'll find both broad topics and specific people, events, and organizations.

Clippings, or vertical, files are available to use by appointment in Shannon Library: email library@virginia.edu. These files contain more than 3k folders containing newspaper clippings and other ephemera organized by topic. View topics in the UVA and Local History files.