Subject Guide
Journals & Newspapers: Research Tools
Use Journal Finder to find out if UVA provides access to specific journal or newspaper titles you find listed in any of the resources listed below.. To browse UVA holdings of African American journals and newspapers do a keyword search in Advanced VIRGO on african american periodicals.
The Afro-American Periodical Press, 1838-1909
A history of this subject. PN 4882.5 .B8 1991, Shannon Reference.
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography
Annotated listing of more than 6500 titles Listed by title, with indexes by subject, editor, publisher, and geographic area. Z 6944 .N39 A37 1998, Shannon Reference
Analytical Guide and Indexes to the Colored American Magazine, 1900-1909 (2v)
AP2.C666 R67 1974, Shannon Stacks
Analytical Guide and Indexes to the Voice of the Negro, 1904-1907
E185.5 .V882, Shannon Stacks
Ante-bellum Black Newspapers
Covers the New York's Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The Rights of All (1829), The Weekly Advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837-1841). Indexed by subjects and names.
E 185.5 .J33, Shannon Stacks.
Antislavery Newspapers and Periodicals (5v)
Indexes letters to abolitionist and reform newspapers.
AI3 .B55, Shannon Stacks
Black Index: Afro-Americans in Selected Periodicals, 1907-1949.
Subject and author guide to over 1,000 articles in more than 350 periodicals of the United States.
Z1361.N39 N58, Shannon Reference
Black Journals of the United States
Historical guide to periodicals and newspapers, covering the period 1827 - 1980's. Entries include circulation figures, and bibliographical information. One of the appendices lists titles by geographical location. PN4882.5 D36 1982, Shannon Reference
In Black and White: A Guide to Magazine Articles, Newspaper Articles and Books concerning more than 15,000 Black Individuals and Groups. 2v and suppls. Newspapers cited are not black papers but titles like the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, etc. Z1361.N39 S655, Shannon Reference.
Index to Black Periodicals (and its predecessors Index to Periodicals By and About Blacks and Index to Periodicals By and About Negroes)
Coverage:1950-1998, this is the most comprehensive index to articles in black mainstream periodicals. AI3 .O4, Shannon Reference
The Kaiser Index to Black Resources, 1948-1986. (5v)
From the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of the New York Public Library. Covers articles from 164 periodicals, entries arranged by subject. No index.
Z1361.N39 K34 1992, Shannon Reference.
A Reference Guide to Afro-American Publications and Editors, 1827-1946
Z6944 .N39 P63 1993, Shannon Reference
Roots of Afrocentric Thought: a Reference Guide to Negro Digest / Black World, 1961-1976.
Part 1: annotated index to articles between 1961 and 1976 in the categories of literature and literary criticism, history, mass media and the arts, social & political analysis. Part 2: bibliography of creative works, reviews, and interview in these two journals."
E185 .N3815 R66 1998, Shannon Stacks