Poland's cinematic history lives at 35mm.online. Hundreds of free feature films, documentaries, and animations have been restored and digitized by the Polish Film Institute, then mounted online for everybody. All with English subtitles.
TV ads from classic American brands from the 1950s - 1980s. AdViews is a collaborative project between the Duke University Digital Collections Program and the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History, as well as a number of other groups, at Duke University.
This repository contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest. The films range from a 1922 silent newsreel to recent footage of pow-wows and political meetings in 2011. The majority of the films date to the golden age of U.S. educational and sponsored filmmaking after World War II up to the advent of portable video.
BFA spotlights Black films made from 1915 to 1979 that are available streaming. While many of the films must be rented or require subscriptions, there are notable freebies like Super Fly from1972 and Juke Joint from 1947.
This collection contains video interviews with people who experienced China’s Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution (1966-1976). It also includes interviews with young Chinese people born after the Cultural Revolution, who discuss how they learned of this historical incident.
Folkstreams is dedicated to finding, preserving, contextualizing, and showcasing documentary films on American traditional cultures. These documentaries focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities.
An immense, wondrous assortment of film/video delights: classic feature films, daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons, concerts, ephemera, archival footage, educational and industrial films, classic sports videos, television, and way more. Many of these videos are available for free download. See https://api.gdeltproject.org/api/v2/tvv/tvv for a breakout of news footage from all over the world.
Get your Korean cinema fix with this YouTube channel devoted to selected films produced in South Korea during the past 70 years. The Korean Film Archive maintains this extensive collection. Subtitles in English provided!
The American Archive of Public Broadcasting hosts this collection of thousands of audiovisual items documenting New Mexico’s social, political, artistic and cultural history between 1963 and 2020. It includes programs by Indigenous producers, Emmy and Peabody Award-winning documentaries, bilingual and Spanish language series, Vietnam War protest coverage and more.
Public Service Broadcasting Trust supports the independent documentary movement in India, producing over 52 films a year--with international accolades, frequent film festival invitations, and awards. You can watch many of them on the PSBT site or on YouTube, https://www.youtube.com/user/PSBTIndia/featured.
Discovery Virginia is a project of Virginia Humanities to digitize and preserve the thousands of valuable assets it has produced in its forty year history, including videos on topics ranging from African American heritage in Virginia to history by and about the Monacan People.