It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to resources at the U.Va Library for the study of the global Middle Ages
(1st-15th centuries CE)
An extensive portal for study of the ancient world providing links to traditional resources online and the authoritative site for "the art of ancient Greece and Rome, and its collection and reception since antiquity."
ToposText is an indexed collection of ancient texts and mapped places relevant the the history and mythology of the ancient Greeks from the Neolithic period up through the 2nd century CE maintained by the Aikaterini Laskaridis Foundation.
Access to AMBROSIA, the aggregated catalogue of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens Blegen Library, the Gennadius Library, and the British School at Athens Library as well as a rich list of Open Access Resources.
Articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected periodicals. Art Index Retro covers 1929-1984 and Art Index Full Text 1984-present. Abstracts are included from 1994 on; full-text of articles from some journals from 1997 on.
The study of the ancient world is a cornerstone of Western scholarship. It possesses a long history with a rich, well-established critical literature. The OBO Classics provides ready access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources including over 50 authoritative essays and more than 8,000 citations on the classical world.
Indexes articles on the literature, languages, and history of ancient Greece and Rome from journals, books and conference proceedings. Coverage in the online version begins with 1959 and goes up to 2-3 years before the current year.
mages of world art from all periods. Paintings, drawings and prints plus architecture and design are represented. Special collections include Asian and American art, Buddhist paintings and sculpture and historic photographs.