LibGuides: Researching the University of Virginia: UVA Publications

This Page:

Major Titles & Publication Types | VIRGO Searches | Student Newspapers & Journals
| Indexes to UVA Publications

Major Titles and Publication Types

UVA publications encompass a broad range of print and online materials. Examples of major periodical titles and major publication types (e.g. UVA catalogues) are listed below. See also available Indexes and VIRGO search examples.

UVA"s flagship publication: Virginia (UVA Magazine)
See also earlier print issues and preceding title UVA Alumni News
UVA Today
See predecessors Inside UVa and the University Register
See also index Card Index to University Register and Inside UVa (1971-1987)
Virginia Quartely Review. See also publisher web site.
Studies in Bibliography from the Bibliographical Society. See also their other publications
The Virginia Newsletter
From the Weldon Cooper Center. Scroll down page for access to archives going back to 1958.
To find other publications by the Weldon Cooper Center, enter weldon cooper center in Author field in a VIrgo Advanced Catalog search.
Student newspapers and journals and directories and yearbooks | Alumni publications
UVA catalogues
See also University Record and Course Descriptions back to 2006
Student theses and dissertations in LIBRA, UVA"s scholarly digital repositiory
Questions about the digital repository? Email libra@virginia.edu.
Search VIRGO for older print theses and dissertations

VIRGO Searches

Advanced VIRGO Catalog
Search for UVA publications by specific authors or on specific topics.

Sample searches:
Keyword =university of virginia task force on afro-american affairs
Keyword = university of virginia sports periodicals
Author = weldon cooper center for public service
Author = curry school of education | Keyword = leadership

TIP: If your search produces too many hits, use the facets or limiters (e.g. Subject) in the left column of the Results screen to narrow your results to a manageable number.

Student Newspapers and Journals

There are scores of UVA student publications in VIRGO. The earliest (1831) UVA student newspaper was THE CHAMELEON.

The CAVALIER DAILY is the longest running student publication. An example of a much younger publication is the VIRGINIA POLICY REVIEW. See the search examples in the following entry.

VIRGO Advanced Catalog Search
1. Retrieve a list (although not comprehensive) of student publications --
Two sample Subject field searches:
college students' writings american virginia charlottesville periodicals
OR
university of virginia students periodicals
2. Find a specific title: enter title (no initial articles) in the Journal Title field, e.g. Virginia Spectator or "The Declaration".
3. Find a publications of a specific type, e.g. literary, do a search like following example -
Subject: university of virginia students periodicals | Keyword: literary

Indexes to UVA Publications (including student publications)

Alumni Bulletin/Alumni News Index (Wyllie File)
Located in Shannon Reference Room, near CS call numbers on West Wall.
A meticulous name and subject index to Alumni Bulletin/Alumni News from 1901 to 1966. A separate drawer indexes Alumni News by subject from 1966-1987. Volumes are shelved in Shannon Reference at LH 1 .V6A5. Alumni Bulletin, Old Series, (v.1-7 (1984-1900) is not covered by this index.
The title covered are:
Alumni Bulletin, New Series, v.1-7 (1901-1907)
Alumni Bulletin, Series III, v.1-17 (1980-1924)
Alumni News, v.1-54 (1913-1966) (NOTE: volume and page number references only)
Index to Cavalier Daily/ College Topics
A slip index to Cavalier Daily and its predecessor, College Topics, is in the wooden cabinet near the "BX" call number area in Shannon Reference. Index is in two sections: 1890-1981 and 1982-1994. Issues after 1997 can be searched in LexisNexis Academic.
Corks and Curls Index (Special Collections)
Described as "an attempt to put in orderly array some of the more important information contained in the volumes of Corks and Curls yearbooks....The index is complete through vol. 78 (1966)."
University of Virginia Magazine/Virginia Spectator Index (Special Collections)
An author, title, and subject index to the University of Virginia Magazine (1849-1938/9) and Virginia Spectator (1939-1953/4). The magazines are shelved at LH 1.V6U8 (2M, New Stacks). Editors for each issue are listed on cards at the beginning of the index. Volume numbering is apparently unreliable, and items should be retrieved by referring to the date of the issue. The number following the date of the volume on the cards [(1916-17)7] indicates the particular issue of that volume in which the reference can be found.
Card index to University Register and Inside UVa
Circa 1971-1987. Accession #RG-12/8/6.138, Special Collections, University of Virginia Library, Charlottesville, Va.
Index to University of Virginia Newsletter (Special Collections)
Index covering all issues of the newsletter from 1932-mid-1970's. Issues of the University of Virginia Newsletter are shelved in Special Collections and Shannon (LH1.V6 N4) and in the Virginia documents section ( UVAIG 3/N 42/). Many issues are also indexed in the Virginia KWIC index behind the 3rd floor desk, Shannon.

<< Previous: Athletics

Researching the University of Virginia

This Page:

Major Titles and Publication Types

VIRGO Searches

Student Newspapers and Journals

Indexes to UVA Publications (including student publications)

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites