Speech Communication Disorders Research Guide

The UVA Library offers workshops on data analysis and statistics, computation and software, as well as on Library resources and methods.

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) workshops

Librarians offer workshops on a variety of topics including: Literature reviews; Zotero; selecting and searching databases; Refworks; VIRGO, and UVA's online catalog.

Access the 7 Ebsco Education Databases

Writing, Research preparation, publication, communicating your research, and more.

Access the PsycInfo database

Access theScienceDirect database

Access theWeb of Science database

Choose from over 150 datasets using data from real research, designed to support the teaching and independent learning of data analysis techniques. Browse all datasets or browse by the options below.

These books called the Little Green Books provide short and accessible texts on all kinds of quantitative methods. Providing clear statistical explanations, straightforward empirical examples, and ready-to-use procedures these supplementary texts are appropriate for the individual researcher, and any graduate-level, intermediate, or advanced statistics course across the spectrum of academic disciplines. Want to learn about Analysis of Variance? We have a Little Green Book for that! Our brief volumes address a spectrum of advanced quantitative topics including Regression, Models, Data Analysis, Experimental Design, Measurement, Survey Data, and more.

These books called the Little Blue Books provide short and accessible texts on all kinds of qualitative methods. Providing clear explanations, and commentary on both theoretical and practical considerations in the implementation of qualitative research. These supplementary texts are appropriate for the individual researcher, and any graduate-level, intermediate, or advanced qualitative methods course across the spectrum of academic disciplines. Want to know more about researching drug-related violence? Try a search in our Little Blue Book Dangerous Fieldwork. Our brief volumes address a full range of advanced qualitative topics including writing up qualitative research, participatory action research, feminist fieldwork analysis, discourse analysis, and ethnography.

This tool is designed to guide you through your research project. First, think about what stage you're at in your research. If you've already gotten started, click on the stage below that best describes where you are. If you're just starting out, it might be helpful to read more about why we do research before getting started.

Videos to help you build your research skills and videos to cover all aspects of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research.

Reference provides Dictionary definitions and Encyclopedia entries on research topics, including both umbrella terms such as Qualitative Research Methods, and specific lines of inquiry such as Action research. Dictionary definitions are a useful first step into understanding potentially complex research terms. Encyclopedia entries are both broad and deep, presented in an authoritative, interdisciplinary, and accessible way. Reference resources are invaluable assets to researchers anywhere in the world, and provide students with the perfect place to develop their understanding of methods, and start their research.