Data Librarian
Senior Research Data Management Librarian
Major Data Archives and General Directories
Most discipline-specific archives can be found on within the Find Data by Topic sections. This is a brief listing of the essential data repositories and directories.
General:
- Google Dataset SearchGoogle Dataset Search lets you find datasets hosted in data repositories only. Searching here first is a good choice when looking for data that might be hosted in a repository. This covers most of the repositories listed on this page.
- Data Citation Index (Web of Science)From Web of Science. Discover datasets from multiple repositories in one place. The Data Citation Index provides digital research that is discoverable, citable and linked to primary research literature. [Make sure Data Citation Index is selected from the pulldown.]
- re3data.orgThe goal of re3data is to create a global registry of research data repositories. It covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines for the permanent storage and access to datasets. It also aims to promote a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
- Dataverse NetworkOne interface to search across many data archives, including ICPSR and Roper.
- Open Data Inception2600+ Open Data Portals Around the World. Open data portals are typically oriented towards government or civic data.
Social Science:
- ICPSRThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Users may view documentation, download raw data, and search a bibliography of data-related literature. (You must create a personal ICPSR account in order to download data.)
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchArchive of public opinion research, and not just polling done by Roper. Includes over 12,000 US and 8,000 international datasets.
Science:
- Dryad Digital RepositoryDryad is a curated general-purpose repository that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad has integrated data submission for a growing list of journals.
US Government:
International:
- UK Data Archives CatalogUK Data Archives Catalog.
- CESSDAThe Council of European Social Science Data Archives.
- World Bank - Central Microdata CatalogA directory of data from World Bank, WHO, UNESCO, IPUMS, and more.
- GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social SciencesPrincipal repository for Eurobarometer polls and the International Social Survey Program.