Data Librarian
Senior Research Data Management Librarian
Find Data for Teaching and Learning
These sources include repositories that are useful when you need data for instruction. The focus might be on a particular statistical method or computing environment. These sources are specifically geared towards an instructional context.
If you have something specific in mind, reach out to the librarian listed on this page!
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data repository contains over 18.9 billion datapoints from over 400 databases sourced from 70 public and private organizations. The datasets contained in Sage Data are structured and homogenized to permit correlation of multiple, diverse indicators. The Sage Data repository continues to grow regularly with the addition of new datasets drawn from public and private sources.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowInteractive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1790 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980. Also has crime and health data.
- Sage Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves.
- ICPSR: Teaching and Learning"These resources were created especially for undergraduate faculty and students. While any of ICPSR's data and tools can be used in the classroom, the ones provided here make it easy for instructors to set up data-driven learning experiences. The materials can be used as the basis for assignments, as an in-class or study exercise, for lecture content, or any other way you see fit. All resources are provided under a Creative Commons (attribution) License."
- CORGIS: The Collection of Really Great, Interesting, Situated Datasets"The CORGIS project enables instructors to easily incorporate data science into their classroom. Specifically, it provides over 40 datasets in areas including history, politics, medicine, and education. Additionally, the CORGIS infrastructure supports the integration of new datasets with simple libraries for Java, Python, and Racket, thus empowering introductory students to write programs that manipulate real data." ACM article about it.
- UCI Machine Learning Repository"The UCI Machine Learning Repository is a collection of databases, domain theories, and data generators that are used by the machine learning community for the empirical analysis of machine learning algorithms."
- UCLA’s IDRE's Data Analysis ExamplesThis is a collection of examples using R, SAS, SPSS, and Stata, illustrating the application of different statistical analysis techniques.
- BRIDGES: Bridging Real-world Infrastructure Designed to Goal-align, Engage, and StimulateBRIDGES "provides easy-to-use interfaces to exciting, engaging real-world data (social networks, scientific data, etc), to make it possible for their use in freshmen/sophomore level CS courses; makes it easy to visualize course assignments in a CS1, CS2, data structures, or algorithm courses; and is carefully designed to augment the student experience in routine introductory courses in Computer Science."
- Linguistic Data ConsortiumLinguistic Data Consortium distributes a wide array of language resources. Learn more about how to obtain data.
- RDataSets"This page provides a very helpful table of datasets available through R packages. You can see the number of rows, the number of columns, and also how many columns are binary or character (and therefore get a sense of what you might be able to do with them). "
- DASL: Dataset and Story LibraryFilter by statistical method and number of cases.
- UCI Network Data Repository"The UCI Network Data Repository is an effort to facilitate the scientific study of networks."
- Network Repository"The first interactive data and network data repository with real-time visual analytics. Network repository is not only the first interactive repository, but also the largest network repository with thousands of donations in 30+ domains (from biological to social network data)."
These sources a a little more "buyer beware" - they might be very useful, or they might not be as well documented as you would need for teaching and learning.
- Tableau Sample Data SetsA changing sample of datasets for use in teaching and learning.
- Kaggle DatasetsA collection of datasets for predictive modeling and machine learning.
- "Awesome Public Datasets"Nice listing of publicly available datasets
- List of datasets for machine-learning research"These datasets are applied for machine-learning research and have been cited in peer-reviewed academic journals."