Welcome
Welcome to the School of Data Science's library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Jennifer Huck.
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Jenn for help with your assignments. This service is available to all Data Science students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Jenn can help you find articles and books, find data to analyze, and organize your sources. Jenn can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Find course readings
Speech and Language Processing by ISBN: 9780131873216Publication Date: 2023"The first of its kind to thoroughly cover language technology - at all levels and with all modern technologies - this text takes an empirical approach to the subject, based on applying statistical and other machine-learning algorithms to large corporations. The authors cover areas that traditionally are taught in different courses, to describe a unified vision of speech and language processing."
Foundations of Statistical Natural Language Processing by ISBN: 9780262133609Publication Date: 1999"This foundational text is the first comprehensive introduction to statistical natural language processing (NLP) to appear. The book contains all the theory and algorithms needed for building NLP tools."
Natural Language Processing with Python by ISBN: 9780596516499Publication Date: 2009"This book offers a highly accessible introduction to natural language processing, the field that supports a variety of language technologies, from predictive text and email filtering to automatic summarization and translation. With it, you'll learn how to write Python programs that work with large collections of unstructured text."- From Frequency to Meaning: Vector Space Models of Semantics byPublication Date: 2010"Computers understand very little of the meaning of human language. This profoundly limits our ability to give instructions to computers, the ability of computers to explain their actions to us, and the ability of computers to analyse and process text. Vector space models (VSMs) of semantics are beginning to address these limits. This paper surveys the use of VSMs for semantic processing of text."
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for data science research.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFind articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
- ProQuest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa and RefWorks.
Locate resources by program
- Data Science Research GuideThis is the full Data Science Research Guide that will show you where to find academic articles, news, policy articles, and government documents.
Explore datasets/data repositories
- Find Data and Statistics - Research GuideThis Research Guide will point you to popular sources of data and statistics. If you don't find what you are looking for, schedule an appointment with the librarian on this page.