Electrical & Computer Engineering

Electrical & Computer Engineering Subject Guide

Best Databases for Electrical & Computer Engineering

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Combines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus) This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Find articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Book Citation Index- Science (2005-), Book Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (2005-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-), Index Chemicus (1993-), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.

Libra

Libra makes UVA scholarship available to the world and provides safe and secure storage for the scholarly output of the UVA community. Libra is an Open Access repository, meaning that anyone can search, view, and download content. For questions or feedback, contact us: libra@virginia.edu

See Libra here

More Information

Ask a Librarian
Have a question? Speak directly to a librarian.
Interlibrary Loan
Order books and articles not found at UVa through this free service.
Off-Grounds Access to Databases, Journals, etc.
REMEMBER: if you want to use library databases from home or while you are traveling, you'll need to set up off-grounds access!
Place Items on Reserve
For Instructors wishing to place items on reserve for a course.
Purchase Requests
Use this link to submit a request to ask the Library to purchase a book for the UVA Library.