VPN: A VPN scrambles data as it is transmitted between a server and a mobile device (phone or tablet), a desktop computer (at your home), or a laptop computer (when you are traveling). This allows you to access UVa Library resources, including Virgo and databases, as if you were on-grounds. Library subscription databases don't require an individual login to access them. They authenticate through the IP address. Using a VPN ensures that the database "sees" your computer as being on an acceptable IP address. Be sure you are also using the database link that is in this guide, or the Library's A-Z database list.
UVa offers four types of VPNs for accessing UVa resources: the UVaAnywhere, the UVa More Secure Network (MSN), the Joint VPN, and the High Security VPN
UVaAnywhere VPN: Provides an off-Grounds connection to resources that normally require you to be on Grounds to use them such as Library resources, the UVA Home Directory Service, the Exchange Server, servers restricted by departments, etc. It provides an on-Grounds IP address for all applications on your computer, thereby protecting all network traffic, whether or not it is Web-based, between your machine and the UVa network.
This page provides guidance on how to use tools like the Reload @ UVA button and LibKey Nomad for help in accessing articles paid for by the UVA Libraries if you are using a non-library search tool like Google off-Grounds.
To the left you will also find information on what a Virtual Private Network (VPN) is and how you can get access to one at UVA to help when you're researching from off-Grounds.
If you have questions or run in to trouble when trying to access a particular article, ebook, or other resource, feel free to email Sherri for help, or, for a quick response, try our Ask a Librarian chat support or other options to contact our Library staff.
UVA Libraries Reload Button
Doing research off-Grounds? Try out the reload button! Add the button to your browser's bookmark toolbar (see instructions below), and whenever you come across a journal or article you think you should be able to access, click the button to reload the page through the UVA Library proxy
For all browsers: Click and drag this image to the bookmarks toolbar. If the bookmarks/favorites toolbar isn't open, press Shift + Ctrl + B (Windows) or Shift + ⌘(command) + B (Mac).
*Note: Reloading the page through the proxy still won't give you access if it's a resource we don't subscribe to. To verify access, look up the journal or database in the appropriate list. Credit to Robin Dasler at UMD for developing this simple, yet key, research tool!
Libkey Nomad is a browser extension that instantly identifies links to articles for full text access (either through your library's holdings or through Open Access sources), and if it can't find a version of the article that is available to you through your library, it will fill out an ILL request for you through your library. It means you can browse the publisher websites directly rather than searching the library website for an article.
Using Libkey Nomad is a bit like taking a librarian with you as you surf the web: it will identify access to articles you browse, and take you to the full text if we have access. If we don't have access, it will fill out an ILL request for you, which you just have to click to submit.
It works in all of the major browsers, including: Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Safari, Brave, and Vivaldi.
You do not need to be on Grounds, or connected via the VPN to use it, and you don't have to create an account; you'll be prompted to authenticate via Netbadge when needed.