LibGuides: PSYC 4500 LGBTQ+ around the World: Databases

About These Databases

Databases are great when you want to find something specific to your discipline, or when you want to be sure that you are finding the best resources available. The databases below are some of your best bets for LGBTQ studies and psychology.

Here are tips for using databases:

Remember that if you are off-grounds when you want to access these databases, be sure to go through a library website so you are prompted for your NetBadge computing ID. You will then be able to view the articles without having to pay for them.
Use the the "Find @ UVA" button to get the full text.
Limit your search results to "peer-reviewed" articles to get articles evaluated by scholars in the discipline.

Resources for Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Articles (Secondary Sources)

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life with Full Text is the definitive database for LGBT studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Beginning in the 1800s, covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.

Resources for Historical Documents (Primary Sources)

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940- Parts I and II This link opens in a new window
Access to Parts I and II
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history.
Women and Social Movements: International This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements, International is a collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
LGBTQ+ Rights This link opens in a new window
This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.

Additional Databases

A-Z Databases: Women, Gender, and Sexuality
A list of all of the databases that UVA subscribes to that have been tagged as relevant to WGS.

PSYC 4500 LGBTQ+ around the World

About These Databases

Resources for Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Articles (Secondary Sources)

Resources for Historical Documents (Primary Sources)

Additional Databases

Contact Us

About the Library

Using the Library

Other Sites