Librarian
Starting Points
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBeginning in the 1800s, covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
- Annual Review of PsychologyOverview of trends in psychological research from the 1950s to the present.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral SciencesFully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
- Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new windowAll aspects of biomedicine and allied health fields plus other biological, physical and social sciences as they relate to health and medicine. Both versions have the same contents, but different interfaces and update schedules.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowThe U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowPart of Web of Knowledge/Web of Science. Daily updates make it a good source for recent information. Gives number of times each article has been cited. Use Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.
- Science Citation Index This link opens in a new windowPart of Web of Knowledge/Web of Science. Daily updates make it a good source for recent information. Gives number of times each article has been cited. Use Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.
Additional Resources
- Springer Protocols This link opens in a new windowReproducible, laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences from sources such as Methods in Molecular Biology and from journals and laboratory handbooks. Create an account to save your favorites and take notes, or simply download full text.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods is a methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.