Welcome
Welcome to the STS 4500 library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Maggie Nunley
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Maggie for help with your assignments. This service is available to all SEAS students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Maggie can help with any step in the research process and can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more.
- UVA Library Research PageCovers everything you need to access all the Library's collections plus ILL. If you're going to bookmark one Library page then this is it.
- A-Z DatabasesReview all the Library's 1100+ online databases. You can search by keyword or by the subject list at the top of the page.
- Engineering DatabasesAll the core engineering databases for everything you need for technical research.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Search Virgo
- Getting Started with VirgoUse the link above to open a full-screen version of the PDF below.
- Navigating VirgoInteractive guide to Virgo navigation.
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Explore core STS journals
- Science, Technology & Society
Access to 1999 to Present
"An international journal devoted to the study of science and technology in social context. It focuses on the way in which advances in science and technology influence society and vice versa. It is a peer-reviewed journal that takes an interdisciplinary perspective, encouraging analyses whose approaches are drawn from a variety of disciplines such as history, sociology, philosophy, economics, political science and international relations, science policy involving innovation, foresight studies involving science and technology, technology management, environmental studies, energy studies and gender studies." - Science, Technology, & Human Values
A peer-reviewed, bi-monthly, international, interdisciplinary journal containing research, analyses and commentary on the development and dynamics of science and technology, including their relationship to politics, society and culture. - Sustainability Science
Deals with global issues of sustainability that intersect both human impact and social concerns to address the 21st century challenges for sustainability.
Access SEAS undergraduate thesis portfolios
The SEAS thesis portfolios are made up of:
- STS Prospecus (written in STS4500)
- Major Capstone/Technical (however your major defines this - they're each unique)
- STS Research Paper (written in STS4600)
- Executive Summary (also written in STS4600)
2020-2023 are available online through the UVA Library's repository, Libra.
2019 and earlier are only available in print. They're located in the Library's off-grounds storage but can be access by delivery to the library of your choice by request. If you've never requested something from Ivy before this guide will walk you through how to do it.
- Hughes Award STS PapersIn 2024, the Engineering and Society department began nominating and awarding the best STS papers for the Hughes Award.
The following link includes the finalists and the award winners. - Online SEAS undergrad thesis portfoliosAll SEAS undergraduate thesis portfolios have been submitted online through Libra from 2020-2023.
From there, you can keyword search or use the toolbar on the left-hand side of the page to limit by advisor (under Author) or by Subject. - Print SEAS undergrad thesis portfoliosThe Library's entire collection of SEAS undergraduate theses. The list is sorted from newest (2019) to oldest (~1940s).
All print portfolios are storage at Ivy Stacks and can be accessed via request.
Explore ways to make research easier
- Is it peer-reviewed?A quick tutorial to help you determine if a resource is peer-reviewed or not (and what peer-review means and why we care about it!).
- Research Plan ExerciseFeeling stuck with your topic? Use this exercise to go from what you you want to research to the information you need and where you can find it.
- Research Set-upFive tools, tips, and tricks that will help make your entire research process much easier. Make it easy to get access to article, create citations, and find the information you need!
Help with APA citations
For most courses in STS our preferred citation style is APA.
Watch library tutorials
- Navigating the Library websiteLearn how to locate information on the UVA Libraries webpage.
- Finding a library locationMaps, walking directions, and more.
- Help with researchSubject help, tutorials, and common questions... we're here to help!
- Searching for articles and using databasesNot everything is available directly in Virgo — learn how to access academic articles using databases.
- Off-grounds accessYou may need a VPN or other tool when you're not directly on UVA's network.
- Policies about using the LibraryLibrary policies about access, circulation, privacy, and much more.
- Finding a book in the LibraryLearn about the process of locating a book at the UVA Libraries.
- How to use InterLibrary LoanA quick guide to Interlibrary loan and how to request material through UVA Library.