Journal Finder
- Journal FinderUse the Journal Finder to find out if UVa has a journal online fulltext or in print format,
Enter the title of the journal in the 2nd search box in the Journal Finder to determine if it is available online.
Enter the title of the journal in the 1st search box in the Journal Finder to see if it is in print. If it is and you are taking classes on-Grounds, you would need to go to the library to get the journal. If you are enrolled in the Curry Distance Education program, you can request a digital copy of the article using the library's interlibrary loan service.
Dissertations
If you need a copy of a issertation that is not available online full text, you can use the Library's free Interlibrary Loan Service to try and obtain a copy.
In addition to the databases below, you can also locate dissertations that are distributed as open access dissertations by searching Google using the the title, author. or keyword although identifying a dissertation from the retrieved results is a bit challenging due to the lack of meta tagging..
- Dissertations & Thesis PROQUESTFull text (PDF) of most U.S. dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
- Association of African UniversitiesThere have been technical difficulties originating with this database.
- Australian Digital Theses (dissertations)There have been technical difficulties originating with this database.
- Center for Research Libraries (Dissertations from around the world. UVa is a member of CRL)
- CyberThesis (French)
- Dart Europe
- EThOs
- Index to Theses (United Kingdom and Ireland)
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
- Open Thesis
- Theses (Dissertations) Canada
Handbooks
The CLIC has a collection of more than 300 handbooks. Handbooks are a great resource for locating best practices, research theories, names of authors, background material, overviews of topics, and good keyword terminology to use when you search databases for journal articles and other materials to inform and support your research.
The handbooks are located to the right of the door as you enter the CLIC. You cannot check out handbooks; however you can scan (free if you use the digital sender in the CLIC) or photocopy them for 8 cents per page using the public printer in the CLIC and your Cavalier debit card.
Sample Handbooks
Additional handbooks related to your topic may be found on the CLIC's Handbook Collection of more than 500 Handbooks.
- Handbook of Research on Educational AdministrationHandbook Area in the CLIC: LB 2805 .H2864 1999
Table of Contents - Handbook of Research on the Education of School LeadersHandbook Area in the CLIC: LB 2831.82 .H36 2009
Table of Contents - International Handbook on the Preparation and Development of School LeadersHandbook Area in the CLIC: LB 2805 .I4544 2008
Table of contents - International Handbook of Educational Leadership and Administration (2 volumes: Parts 1 & 2)Handbook Area in the CLIC: LB 2805 .I454 1996
Table of Contents - International Handbook of Educational Policy (2 volumes: Parts 1 & 2)Handbook Area in the CLIC: LC 71 .I495 2005
Table of Contents
Books
- VIRGO
- List of books in VIRGO about School Principals
- List of books in VIRGO with the subject heading, school management and organization
- List of books in VIRGO with the subject heading, school supervision
- Google BooksSome Google books are full text, while others allow searching within the book by keyword which can be very useful
Statistics & Data Sets
- Common Core of Data
- Condition of Education
- Crime and Safety
- Digest of Education Statistics
- Diplomas Count (Produced by EdWeek)
- Early Childhood Longitudinal Study (ECLS)
- Education Counts Database (produced by EdWeek)
- Education Maps & Stats
- Indicators of School Crime
- International Program Activities
- National Assessment of Adult Literacy (NAAL)
- National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
- National Household Education Survey Program (NHES)
- Projection of Education Statistics
- Quality Counts (produced by EdWeek)
- School District Demographics System
- Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS)
- State Highlights (produced by EdWeek)
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
- Virginia Longitudinal Data Systems (VLDS)
Test Instruments
- Mental Measurements YearbookFind Review of published tests.
- Additional Test Information
Government Resources
- IES (institute of Education Sciences)
- State Education Reforms (by NCES)This site, which draws primarily on data collected by organizations other than NCES, compiles and disseminates data on state-level elementary and secondary education reform efforts in the five areas indicated below.
School finance is also an important area of educational reform. A few tables on this topic are included in the Accountability section. Additional state-level information on school finance is available in "Revenues and Expenditures for Public Elementary and Secondary Education", a report available at the NCES Education Finance Statistics Center. - UNESCO Education
- U.S. Department of Education
- Virginia Department of Education
Videos
U.Va. has videos to support research and teaching as well as videos for recreational use. We have VHS, DVD, online, and streaming videos. The can view the streaming videos and online videos at home!
For example, I typed in the keyword SCHOOL. Click here to see the results I got including documentaries, PBS shows, recreational videos, and more.
Recommended Administration & Supervision Journals
The journals in this section were recommended by faculty in the U.Va. Administration and Supervision program.
Other Recommended Journals
Below are links to highly recommended general education journals that publish articles on a wide range of topics. Included in these articles are literature reviews and meta-analyses.
Associations
Below is a selective list of associations in this field. These websites frequently have additional resources for you. There may be white papers, codes of ethics, policy papers. software reviews, alerting services, notices about conferences, calls to authors for journal articles, and more.
- American Association of School Administrators (AASA).
- American Education Research Association (AERA)
- Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD)
- National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP)
- National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP)
- University Council for Educational Administration
- Virginia Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (VASCD)
- Virginia Association of Elementary School Principals (VAESP)
- Virginia Association of Secondary School Principals (VASSP)
Blogs & Twitters
In the listing below are samples to acquaint you with the usefulness of blogs and tweets and to show the various targeted audiences.
- Albemarle County Superintendent's Twitter (Pam Moran)
- Albemarle County Schools Superintendent's BLOG
- ASCD Inservice Blog
- Blogs from the magazine Education Week (blogs on various topics)
- EDUBLOG AWARDS: MANY CATEGORIESTeacher blogs
Student blogs
Librarian blogs
Class blogs
Tech blogs
and more - Lynn Hilt (rural principal) BLOG
- NAESP Blog
- UCEA BLOG
- Albemarle County Leadership Team Blog (Pam Moran)
Newsletters
- Fritwire"Fritzwire" provides current information on education and related legislation, Congressional hearings, meetings, conferences, new information on research, and job opportunities. The newsletter has a very broad nation-wide audience that includes association, elected officials; Congressional, federal, state and local education agency officials and staff; local and state government staff; business and organization leadership; foundations; university faculty; reporters; policy makers and researchers; bloggers; and individuals. The newsletter is free.
APA Style
You will need to write your research paper using a consistent bibliographic style. Curry students usually are assigned to use APA style. However, other styles are also available.
You can learn to use RefWorks citation software by contacting a CLIC librarian at 434-924-7040. RefWorks automatically generates, for example, APA formatted citations. You can also elect to write the citations in the style you have been assigned to use, In either case, the links below should prove useful.
- APA Blog
- APA Guide by Hacker and Fister
- Purdue University's APA Owl Guide
- RefWorks LOGIN
- EBSCO Database Creates APA CitationsA step-by-step tutorial on how to search 7 Ebsco Education databases and either print, email or save the citation into APA style.
- APA's Basics of Writing an APA Paper
- Locating DOIs for your APA References You can paste in one reference at a time or mutlitples. Read the instructions carefully to avoid errors.
Questions? Monday - Friday 8am-5pm
Ask Your Curry Librarians
Need help finding information for a research project or have questions about borrowing library books? Contact us. We are happy to help with any questions about research or library services.
CALL: Kay Buchanan 434-982-2664
CALL: Carole Lohman 434-924-7040
EMAIL: Email the Curry Librarians
- CHATChat requires JavaScript.
Questions? Evenings and Weekends
Ask a U.Va. Librarian
- CHAT with a U.Va. Librarian
- Call a U.Va Librarian434.260.1882
ITS Technology Help "Desk": Available 24/7
- Ways to Contact the ITS Help Desk
- CHAT with the Help Desk Staff
- PHONE TOLL FREE 24 Hours a Day, 7 Days a Week866-469-4866
- ITS Help Desk: Online Request Form
Library Services
- Accounts you need at U.Va.
- Interlibrary Loan ServiceIf none of the U.Va. libraries have the journal or book you need in print or online, use the Library's free Interlibrary Loan Service request form to request it. You must register first. Students and faculty in the Curry Off-Grounds program should register by clicking on the "Distance Education/SCPS link. Other students should register using the "Graduate & Undergraduate student" link.
The library will get a PDF copy of the journal article or a book chapter, for example and email it to you. If you request a book, you will be sent an email once it is available for you to pick up from the U.Va. library that you designated as your pickup library. If you are in the off-Grounds program, the book will be mailed to you without charge and you will need to pay return postage and mail it back, or you can drop it off at one of the U.Va. libraries. - Library Hours
- Printing and Photocopying
- RefWorksIf you are off-Grounds, we recommend that you install and connect to the databases and RefWorks using VPN UVaAnywhere as opposed to just connecting through Netbadge as there have been issues with the transfer of the citations.
1. Tutorials and more - Renew Your Library Books
- Scanning in the CLIC
Other Library Research Guides
The librarians have created many research guides to help you find resources for your research papers, journal articles you are writing, etc.
Overview
This guide was developed by the CLIC librarians to support Administration and Supervision classes at the U.Va. Curry School of Education. Updated 1/15/12.
Feedback
Please give us suggestions to improve this guide!

Loading...
